Skip to Main Content

Career Services Resources and Strategies: Bloomberg Litigation Analytics

About Litigation Analytics

Learn how to access data-based analysis of judges, courts, attorneys, law firms, and companies.

View the Video tutorial, scroll down to see examples the data analytics varieties or log in and jump right in to the

Litigation Analytics
  1. The Bloomberg Law Search Bar (by typing “Litigation Analytics” and selecting the Litigation Analytics drop-down option)
  2. From the Litigation Intelligence Center home page or link in the left navigation menu
  3. A Company Profile page
  4. Bloomberg Law’s Business Intelligence Center (under Competitive Tools)
Scroll down and view;

Company AnalyticsLaw Firm AnalyticsJudge AnalyticsAttorney AnalyticsCourt Analytics

Company Analytics
 

Drawing on Bloomberg Law’s vast docket database and extensive company information, the Litigation Analytics tool enables users to search across both public and private companies to view:

1: Which law firms are representing a given company in federal litigation

COLawFirms

2: Which Attorneys are representing a given company in federal litigation

attorneys

3: The lawsuits the company has been involved in by case type

COCaseType

4: A jurisdictional breakdown of a company’s federal litigation

COJuri

5: A company's federal litigation history

COLitiHistory

Targeted Filtering

Example

1: Law Firm

lawfirm

lawfirm

2: Law Firm Attorney

attorney

attorney

attorney

3: Law Firm Attorney by Case Type

casetype

casetype

4: Law Firm Attorney by Case Type and Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction

5: Law Firm Attorney by Case Type, Jurisdiction, and Litigation History

History


Company Analytics

Company Analytics includes information for over 70,000 public companies and 3.5 million private companies, and allows users to filter out subsidiaries, view company profile information and view organizational hierarchies.  Filters such as date, law firm, case type and jurisdiction further allow users to breakdown the data to help them identify insights and visualize legal trends for a given company. 


Generate Reports

Users can generate reports of company analytic data in PDF, Word, and Excel formats by clicking on the printer icon and selecting the charts and/or data they wish to download.

COPrintIcon

COPrintScreen


NOTES
  • Bloomberg Law’s Company Analytics is based on information from U.S. District Court and Court of Appeals dockets from 2007-forward, excluding criminal dockets and prisoner petitions.  Case type information is generated from the Nature of Suit codes assigned to the individual dockets.
  • Company representation information includes appearance information for over 7000 law firms included in Bloomberg Law’s law firm database.  Company representation information is unavailable for law firms not included in Bloomberg Law’s law firm database.  Where a company does not have any listed law firm representation on a docket or is represented by a law firm not included in Bloomberg Law’s law firm database, “N/A” will appear in the Law Firm column on the dockets table.
Law Firm Analytics

 

In addition to search by company, Bloomberg Law’s Litigation Analytics enables users to search across law firms to view:

1. The companies a given law firm has represented in federal litigation

LFCompanies

2. The number of appearances by a law firm's attorneys

LFCaseType

3. The entirety of a law firm’s federal litigation portfolio by case type

LFLitiHistory

4. A jurisdictional breakdown of a law firm’s federal litigation

LFJuri

5. A law firm’s federal litigation history

LFJuri

 Law Firm Analytics includes information for over 7,000 law firms.  Filters such as date, company, case type and jurisdiction further allow users to breakdown the data to help them identify insights and visualize legal trends for a given law firm.


Targeted Filtering

Example

1: Client Company

target2

target2

2: Attorney Representing Client

target2

target2

3: Client, Attorney and Case Type

target2

4: Client, Attorney, Case Type and Jurisdiction

target2

5: Client, Attorney, Case Type, Jurisdiction, and Litigation History

target2


Generate Reports

Users can generate reports of law firm analytic data in PDF, Word, and Excel formats by clicking on the printer icon and selecting the charts and/or data they want to download.  

LFPrintIcon

LFPrintScreen

NOTES:

  • Bloomberg Law’s Law Firm Analytics is based on information from U.S. District Court and Court of Appeals dockets from 2007-forward, excluding criminal dockets and prisoner petitions.  Case type information is generated from the Nature of Suit codes assigned to the individual dockets. 
  • Law firm representation information includes representation information for companies in Bloomberg’s company database (over 70,000 public companies and 3.5 million private companies).  Representation information is not available for individuals or companies not in Bloomberg’s company database.  Where a law firm is listed on a docket as representing an individual or company not in Bloomberg’s company database, “N/A” will appear in the Company column on the dockets table.
Judge Analytics

Bloomberg Law’s Judge Analytics enables users to gain valuable insights on all sitting federal district court judges, including the judge’s career history, most cited opinions and recent news about the judge.

JProfile

Motion Outcomes

See how a judge rules on motions to dismiss, motions for summary judgment, and motions for class certification.  Filters decisions by legal topic and quickly access motion opinions.

JMotions

Appeal Outcomes

See how often a judge is affirmed, reversed or affirmed/reversed in part.  Quickly access the judge’s decisions that were appealed and filter those opinions by legal topic.

JAppeals

Length of Case

See how long cases generally take before a judge.  Narrow the cases by case type to zero in on the case types relevant to you (e.g., employment law cases)

JLength

Appearance & Case Types

See what law firms and companies have appeared most frequently before a judge.  View the case types most often handled by a judge.

JAppearCaseType


Targeted Filtering

Example

1: Case Type

target2

2: Case Type and Law Firm

target2

3: Case Type, Law Firm, and Attorney

target2

target2

4: Case Type, Law Firm, Attorney, and Client Company

target2


Generate Reports

Users can generate reports of the judge analytic data in PDF and Word formats by clicking on the printer icon and selecting the charts and/or data they want to download.

JPrintIcon

JPrintScreen

Comparative Analytics

In addition, Bloomberg Law’s Comparative Analytics tool enables users to easily compare a judge’s motion and appeal outcomes and length of case averages to other federal district court judges, as well as with jurisdiction and national averages. Simply click on the "+ Add Comparative Analytics" button and choose the judges or jurisdictions you wish to compare.

JCompButton

JCompScreen

NOTES:
  • Motion Outcomes and Appeal Outcomes analytics are based on Bloomberg Law’s Court Opinion and BCITE information. Topic information is generated from the topics tagged to a judge’s opinions.
  • Length of Case and Appearances & Case Types analytics are based on U.S. District Court dockets from 2007-forward, excluding criminal dockets and prisoner petitions.  Case type information is generated from the Nature of Suit codes assigned to the individual dockets.
Attorney Analytics
 

Bloomberg Law's Attorney Analytics provides representation information for over 100,000 attorneys at over 775 law firms. The analytics include attorney appearances on behalf of companies listed in Bloomberg's database of over 70,000 public and 3.5 million private companies and are generated from U.S. District Court and Court of Appeals dockets filed between January 1, 2007 and the present. Criminal dockets and prisoner petitions are not included.


Selecting Attorney

1. Select the Attorney tab

AA1

2. Enter the desired name into the field

AA2

3. Select the desired attorney from the drop-down suggestion(s)

AA3

Chart Type

Using Attorney Analytics, users are able to see the companies the attorney has represented in federal court, the types of cases the attorney has litigated, the jurisdictions the attorney has litigated in, and the trend of the attorney’s litigation.

1: Company:  View companies represented

AA4

2: Case Type:  View types of cases ligated (case types are based on nature of suit codes assigned to the docket)

AA5

3: Jurisdiction: View litigation by jurisdiction

AA6

4: Litigation History: View number of cases by year

AA7

#

Filters

Filters, located on the left, include date, company, case type, jurisdiction, and law firm. These further allow users to breakdown the data to help them identify insights and visualize legal trends for the specified attorney.

1: Date Range:  Coverage from 2007 to present; includes options of Last 12 Months and 3 or 5 Years

AA8

AA9

2: Company:  Filter to see specific company representation 

AA10

AA11

3: Case Type:  Filter to see specific case types (case types are based on nature of suit codes assigned to the docket)

AA12

AA13

4: Jurisdiction:  Filter by federal jurisdiction

AA14

AA15

5: Law Firms:  Filter to view representation by law firm

AA16

AA17

#

Print/Download

In addition, users can generate Attorney Analytic reports; downloadable in PDF, Word, and Excel formats by clicking on the printer icon and selecting the charts and/or data they want to download.

AA18

AA19

#

Attorney Profile

Attorney Profile pages provide additional information such as, Contact Information, Career History, News, Education and Board Memberships.

AA20

AA21


#

NOTE:
  • Profile information is unique to the individual attorney; not all attorneys will have all categories information.
  • For further information regarding the features of Attorney Analytics, or for questions about a specific attorney’s analytics or profile information, please contact our 24/7 Help Desk at 1-888-560-2529 or blawhelp@bna.com.

#

Court Analytics

Bloomberg Law’s Court Analytics enables users to gain valuable insights on Federal District Courts, including Motion Outcomes, Appeal Outcomes, Length of Cases, and Appearances & Case Types.

CA1

Motion Outcomes

See how a Federal Court has ruled on Motions to Dismiss, Motions for Summary Judgment, and Motions for Class Certification. Filter decisions by Outcomes, Date, Legal Topic, and quickly access motion opinions.

CA2

Appeal Outcomes

See how often a Federal Court is Affirmed, Reversed or Affirmed/Reversed in Part. Filter decisions by Date, Legal Topic, and quickly access the decisions.

CA3

Length of Case

See how long cases generally take before in the selected Federal Court. Narrow by Case Type to zero in on the case types relevant to you (e.g., employment law cases)

CA4

Appearance & Case Types

See what Case Types, Law Firms, Attorneys, or Companies have appeared most frequently before a Federal Court.

CA5


Notes
  • Motion Outcomes and Appeal Outcomes analytics are based on Bloomberg Law’s Court Opinion and BCITE information. Topic information is generated from the topics tagged to a Federal Court’s opinions.
  • Length of Case and Appearances & Case Types analytics are based on U.S. District Court dockets from 2007-forward, excluding criminal dockets and prisoner petitions. Case type information is generated from the Nature of Suit codes assigned to the individual dockets.