In this section, you will find information on:
To determine your federal poverty level (FPL) clink on the link below. Enter the amount of income your household makes in a month (or bi-weekly/weekly) and enter your family size. Pregnant women count as two people.
Not everyone can afford an attorney to represent them and going to court without a lawyer is a serious risk. These cases can be complicated and it is recommended that you consult a lawyer to best protect your interests, especially if there are issues regarding parental rights and responsibilities of children, property or pension/retirement benefits.
Recent changes in court rules now allow a lawyer to represent you for a portion of your case, which can reduce costs. Read more about "unbundled legal services."
Source: New Hampshire Judicial Branch
The New Hampshire Bar Association and other legal non-profit's offer a variety of free or reduced services based on your income and needs.
Please see below for more information on how to obtain services.
LRS provides consumers with guidance on selecting and hiring a qualified lawyer who is conveniently located and handles the customer’s particular legal matter. LRS maintains a continuously updated database of attorneys who handle over 30 categories of law, along with additional information that may be helpful, such as languages spoken, willingness to make home or hospital visits, office wheelchair accessibility, and more. Learn more. Source: NH Bar Association |
The Modest Means Program is operated by the Lawyer Referral Service (LRS) of the NH Bar Association.
The program charges a one-time, non-refundable $25 application fee at the time of referral. There is no charge if you do not qualify for the Modest Means Program.
Depending upon income, you may qualify for legal services at one of the following hourly rates: $80/$100/$125. The amount of the retainer will be determined by the attorney but is, on average, $800-$1,500. If you qualify, you will receive a referral immediately to a Modest Means panel attorney.
Source: NH Bar Association
|
LARC is a private, non-profit law firm that provides free legal information, advice, Pro Se assistance, and referrals to low-income families. LARC provides legal help in the following areas in family law: domestic violence, divorce, separation, annulment, adoption, child custody, interstate custody, child support, and guardianship. If you have a problem that LARC does not cover, they would be more than happy to refer you to another lawyer who is able to handle your case. When you call LARC, they will interview you regarding your case. It is best to always be open and honest during these interviews in order to receive the best legal advice and help. LARC provides legal advice over the telephone and ongoing support to parties representing themselves. In some cases they advocate on behalf of clients with the adverse party. They refer many clients to other programs, as described below. Also see LARC's Self-Help Guides:
Address: 48 South Main Street
Concord, NH 03301 Source: New Hampshire Legal Aid |
The Pro Bono Referral Program links low-income people with volunteer attorneys for free legal services in family law and other cases. Most individuals must apply through the Legal Advice and Referral Center (above). Source: NH Bar Association |
NHLA provides free legal advice and representation to low-income people in civil matters involving basic needs, including food, shelter, income and medical care. NHLA also has a Domestic Violence Advocacy Project (DVAP), which represents victims and survivors of domestic abuse in domestic violence restraining order hearings, and divorce and parenting (custody) cases. If you need legal help from DVAP, please contact your local domestic violence crisis center for a referral. An attorney from NHLA works on-site at the Crisis Center of Central New Hampshire in Concord one to two days per week and is available for appointments as needed. This “in-house” placement increases access to holistic civil legal services for low income victims/survivors in their family law cases, thereby leading to better and safer outcomes. NHLA provides on-site legal screening and offers advice and counsel to crisis center clients experiencing domestic and sexual violence and/or stalking. NHLA is committed to increasing access to civil legal services for immigrants, refugees, and limited-English proficient victims/survivors of domestic violence, as well as the traditionally underserved LGBTQ community. To determine your eligibility for services, call the New Hampshire Legal Assistance local branch office nearest you, or visit www.nhlegalaid.org. Source: New Hampshire Legal Assistance |
The Domestic Violence Emergency (DOVE) Project is a program of the New Hampshire Bar Association’s Pro Bono Referral Program that provides victims of violence and stalking with emergency legal services. DOVE is operated in partnership with domestic violence service agencies throughout NH and relies on the donated services of specially trained attorneys and provides free legal representation to qualifying clients at final Domestic Violence and Stalking Restraining Order hearings. To be represented by a volunteer DOVE attorney, you must contact a local New Hampshire domestic violence crisis service agency. Call 1-866-644-3574, available 24 hours a day to be connected with a domestic violence or stalking advocate.
|
Volunteer attorneys are available to answer legal questions and provide legal information to the public through Lawline, the NH Bar Association's free telephone legal advice service. Source: NH Bar Association |