Skip to main content

Resources for UNH Law Faculty : Faculty Services Home

Describing the services, programs and services to help UNH Law faculty with scholarship.

Faculty Services Home

UNH Law Faculty Services - COVID 19 Yellow Mode

Due to safety concerns around COVID-19 developments, UNH Law LIbrary will NOT offer physical course reserve services -including casebooks- for the Fall 2020 semester. 

Faculty may borrow books from any UNH Library for a semester at a time.  Books borrowed from other UNH Libraries may be charged a fee for overdue materials. The law library reserves the right to recall materials.  

If you need materials from another library, contact Kathy Fletcher or use this form. Acquiring a book or article from another library can take anywhere from several days to a month depending on the policies and procedures of the lending library.  Once borrowed, any photocopy becomes the property of the faculty member. Any book borrowed from another library is subject to the lending policies of that library. Some books can be renewed provided the request is made by the library in advance of the due date and the lending library agrees. Otherwise, books borrowed through inter-library loan should be returned to Kathy Fletcher by the due date specified.

Faculty members are paired with a Law Librarian who serves as the primary contact for faculty library needs. Your liaison can assist you with:

  • Reference/Research questions or projects
  • Making suggestions for purchases for the collection
  • Providing customized research guides or research presentations for your courses
  • Assist you in making active research exercises 
  • Suggesting relevant resources to support your scholarship 
  • Meeting at your request to assess your research needs, explore ways to assist in your classroom instruction and refresh your memory about existing library service
  • Providing or arranging for individual training on electronic resources
  • Arranging to have library materials routed to you

Questions about the Scholars' Repository should be referred to Sue Zago

Questions about the new Library Search should be referred to Melanie Cornell

Find Your Liaison

Faculty-Librarian Liaisons

  • Ann Bartow - JC
  • Courtney Brooks - KF
  • Jordan Budd - SZ
  • Megan Carpenter - SZ
  • Jennifer Davis - JC
  • Jessica Durkis-Stokes - SZ
  • Risa Evans - SZ
  • Roger Ford - JC
  • Judge Arthur Gajarsa - JC
  • John Garvey – KF
  • John Greabe – SZ
  • Lucy Hodder - SZ
  • Marcus Hurn – SZ
  • Stanley Kowalski – JC
  • Ashlyn Lembree - JC
  • Michael McCann - JC
  • Bill Murphy – KF
  • Ellen Musinsky – SZ
  • John Orcutt – JC
  • Leah Plunkett - KF
  • Alexandra Roberts - JC
  • Albert Scherr – SZ
  • Mitch Simon – SZ
  • Sophie Sparrow - SZ
  • Ryan Vacca - JC
  • Amy Vorenburg – KF
  • Peter Wright – KF

Adjunct Faculty

  • IP Adjuncts - JC
  • Non-IP Adjuncts - KF

Emeritus Faculty - KF

Others

  • Graduate Program IP Distinguished Visiting Scholars - JC
Zotero 

Zotero is a great tool for organizing sources that you find on the open web or in library databases.  It is "free, easy to use tool to help you collect, organize, cite and share research. Zotero allows you to easily save bibliographic details, comments, indexing terms, and direct links to webpages, word documents, and even articles that are in library subscription databases.  It is compatible with Windows and Mac OS. You will also need a connector (like an add-on or extension) for your browser. All the major browsers are supported.

Zotero User Guide

Zotero: Quick Start Guide - ‚ÄčHow to download Zotero 5.0. Handout courtesy Jason Puckett at Georgia State University Library.

Submitting Your Manuscript to Law Reviews

UNH Law participates in two services for faculty to submit manuscripts to law reviews in bulk, Scholastica and ExpressO.  Prior to using these services, contact Jon Cavicchi to be sure that you are included on the list.  Please review each law review's requirements prior to submission. For training contact your Liaison.

Posting Your Work 

Working papers 

Legal Scholarship Network provides access to working papers and abstracts of articles accepted for publication as well as announcements of professional meetings, calls for papers and professional job listings. LSN database and paper downloads are free open-source.

In addition - the Law Library subscribes to the alert service that sends email notices of new papers in your legal areas of interest. The best way to get on the list is to ask Sue Zago to e-mail SSRN to sign you up. Once subscribed, you can customize your email subscription to reflect your research interests.  


Final published work 

The Law Library maintains the School of Law Collection on the University of New Hampshire Scholars' Repository.  The repository is designed to preserve, promote and disseminate the scholarship and activities of law school faculty in accordance with UNH’s commitment to open access. Items in the repository are indexed by search engines such as Google, making them accessible to a wide audience. The Scholars’ Repository, a BePress hosted Institutional Repository (IR), provides a central location for archiving UNH scholarship for long-term access, promotes the rights of authors to control their intellectual property, and furthers the concept of open access to research. 

ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from other researchers. It is also used to provide automated links to your work that is used by services like Elements.  Authors with an ORCID iD automatically have a profile page where they can list all their publications, grant awards, and other research outputs.  Law reviews are starting to utilize the ORCiD around submissions.  Register for your ORCiD at https://orcid.org/register  

DISTINGUISH YOURSELF IN
THREE EASY STEPS

ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized. Find out more

1
REGISTER
Get your unique ORCID identifier Register now!
Registration takes 30 seconds.

2
ADD YOUR
INFO
Enhance your ORCID record with your professional information and link to your other identifiers (such as Scopus or ResearcherID or LinkedIn).

3
USE YOUR
ORCID ID
Include your ORCID identifier on your Webpage, when you submit publications, apply for grants, and in any research workflow to ensure you get credit for your work.

MEMBERS MAKE ORCID POSSIBLE!

ORCID is a non-profit organization supported by a global community of organizational members, including research organizations, publishers, funders, professional associations, and other stakeholders in the research ecosystem.

from https://orcid.org

Databases

UNH Franklin Pierce Law Library Resources - search here for books, ebooks, articles and more

Library Search - be sure to sign in with your UNH username and password to get access to all Law Library resources including databases and ebooks. 

Law Library Hours

Law Library Circulation Desk Phone  603-513-5130

 Law Library Hours 

Monday through Thursday  -  8:00 a.m. to midnight

Friday -  8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Saturday - 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Sunday - 10:00 a.m. to midnight

See also Monthly calendars

Questions? Ask Us!

Ask Us! is a chat service offered by the Law Library for the UNH Franklin Pierce Law School students, faculty and staff. 

New Research help hours: 

Monday, Wednesday, Friday - 12p.m. to 3p.m. EST

Tuesday, Thursday - 10a.m. to 2p.m. EST 

Enter your question here if a Law Librarian is not able to chat with you. 

UNH Law Library Home

Our campus buildings at Two White Street and the Law Library remain closed. However, the law librarians are still here for you!  While there is no access to print books or interlibrary loan, we can find information that will help you. We are all still answering our phones and emails.   You can also bring your questions to the "Ask Us" box below.  

Jury Notes - UNH Franklin Pierce School of Law Library Blog

Learn the latest - read the Law Library's blog - Jury Notes!

Quick Links

Find books, ebooks, articles, databases and more.

Library Search - be sure to sign in with your UNH username and password to get access to all Law Library resources including databases and ebooks. 

Databases

Connecting from Off-campus

Current UNH students, faculty, and staff may access most library resources, including databases, from off-campus:

  1. Navigate to the resource you want on the Library web site.
  2. You will be prompted for your UNH IT ID username and password.
  3. Once verified, you will be forwarded on to your resource.

Once you have logged in, you can access databases and other electronic resources available through the library web site.

Special instructions for SCC Online - 

Click on the “log-in” button in the upper right hand corner.  Select “IP Access”.  You will need to enter your UNH Franklin Pierce Law email address as a login ID under "IP Access". If this is the first time you are accessing SCC Online Web Edition using this email id, then click on the  “register here” at the bottom of the popup window. Supply your name and UNH Franklin Pierce Law email address.  If you’ve already registered just login with your email address. No password is required.

Questions? Ask us!

Ask Us! is a chat service offered by the Law Library for the UNH Franklin Pierce Law School students, faculty and staff. 

New Research help hours: 

Monday, Wednesday, Friday - 12p.m. to 3p.m. EST

Tuesday, Thursday - 10a.m. to 2p.m. EST 

Enter your question here if a Law Librarian is not able to chat with you. 

Research Guides

Mission Statement

The University of New Hampshire School of Law librarians shall maintain a law library that is a central, active, responsive force in the educational life of the law school by teaching students and patrons to be successful, ethical information seekers; building and facilitating intellectual access to relevant collections vital to the law school’s academic and programmatic mission; delivering information services supporting teaching, research and scholarship; fostering a culture of collaboration within the law school, the university and the legal and law library community; and providing welcoming space conducive to intellectual discovery.