Covers federal and state appellate judicial cases and American Tribal Law Court cases which are also published in the National Reporter System, decisions from the U.S. Department of Education (since 1990); each volume also includes a few periodical-type articles on education law topics. Some book spines in random volumes of the reporter shows presence of a cumulative index to these periodical articles. Each volume (since 1990 ) also contains a cumulative index to the Department of Education decisions. Kept up to date with advance sheets, in typical West Group fashion. The page numbers to the NRS version of the cases appears at the top of the page, and the page numbers to the Education Law Reporter version appears in brackets at the bottom of each page.
A complete index to all judicial cases reported in the Education Law Reporter. The predominant digest topics are Schools, Colleges and Universities, Civil Rights, and Constitutional Law, but the digest also includes coverage of other headnotes in those cases which may not be related to education topics. The digest does not include coverage of the U.S. Department of Education decisions; one must use the index found in each of the later volumes of the Education Law Reporter for access to these administrative cases. This digest does contain a Table of Cases, Words and Phrases section and a Descriptive Word Index.
Although West’s Education Law Reporter is not on WESTLAW as such, all of the content is. Federal and state judicial cases relating to education topics are available in the WESTLAW Education database. These cases typically date from the earliest reported case publication, rather than from 1982, the start of coverage of the West’s Education Law Reporter. Obviously, most of these cases will include West’s topic and key numbers with the headnotes, enabling you to do a digest or topic and key number search. Doing this search in the Education database rather than generically will improve your searching since it guarantees that you always will retrieve education cases. The journal articles published in the Education Law reporter are also included in the topical WESTLAW Education database.
The topical WESTLAW Education database also includes coverage of the administrative decisions from the U.S. Department of Education, including the Office of Hearings and Appeals Decisions from 1989 and the Education Civil Rights Reviewing Authority from 1966-1997.
LEXIS’ topical Education Law Library covers federal and state judicial cases dealing with education issues, and includes coverage of the administrative cases mentioned in the previous paragraph.