Lost in the stacks? Try your orientating skills by checking out these maps of the Law Library to help you remind yourself where things are in the UNH Law Library.
You can also ask one of our friendly Law Librarians for help.
You can find us at the Circulation Desk, on the main floor or in the IP Library (on the 3rd floor). You can also just Ask Us!
Food and Beverages
Food is allowed anywhere in the library--except for the Kenison Room and the Gire Archives. Patrons may bring in beverages from home or the Jury Box. Covered containers are appreciated. Please clean up after yourselves and be sure to dispose of food waste in the specially-marked gray trash barrels.
Quiet conversations are allowed on the second floor and in study rooms. Please note that the study rooms are not noise proof so conversations should be kept at a low level. Please take phone calls outside of the library if possible.
All other sections of the library are "silent zones." (Including the stairway). If you need to talk or have a group study session please move to the second floor or a study room.
The Law Library has several study rooms available for student use. The study rooms are available for pairs or individual studying. Please see the Circulation/Reserve Desk to get a key for one of these rooms. Students may check out the key for three hours a day, not renewable. Rooms are open for use on a first come first serve basis.
During the exam period, study rooms must be reserved by using the three-ring bound reservation book at the library desk. Rooms will not be checked out to individuals during the exam period.
A reservation from the Registrar's Office "trumps" all other reservations and should be held for the entire time of the reservation. Study rooms may be checked out by the Registrar's Office during midterms or finals. Room keys reserved by the registrar should be checked out to "Lory Attalla."
For more information about how the Law Library can help you be successful when you're on an Externship - take a look at our guide!
UNH Law Library provides study aids to help students best learn the law.
We have an extensive collection of print study aids from publishers such as Wolters Kluwer, LexisNexis, West Academic and more that can be checked out for three weeks at a time. We also have a collection of the Sum and Substance audio study aids for all first-year courses as well as a collection of flashcards. They are located on the main floor of the Law Library in the Student Success Annex.
Hybrid JD students - We license a series of electronic study aids from West Academic to assist our Hybrid JD students. Hybrid students can access these guides at https://subscription.westacademic.com/ and follow the instructions for access to these guides which also allow you to take notes, highlight, save favorites, download titles for offline access, and more.
Copiers and printers
The printer/copier/scanner machines are available on the second and third floors of the library.
Scanning: The machines are able to "Scan and email" and (on the third floor) "Scan to a USB Drive" without needing a copy card. It is a free service. Instructions for scanning are located on signs adjacent to the machines.
Copying: Student IDs must be used for copying. If you do not have enough money to copy the document you will get a message and will have to add money to your card to proceed.
Printing: Student IDs must be used for printing. When printing from a library computer, you will be asked to choose an ID and job name. Both are for a one time use. Proceed to either of the print stations: Library second or third-floor copiers. Swipe your ID in the machine near the printers. Pick the documents to print. If you do not have enough money to copy the document you will get a message and will have to add money to your card to proceed. Printing will not proceed until a card with sufficient amount to process the job is inserted. You will have 24 hours after setting up a print job from your computer to retrieve it at a print station. After 24 hours the job will cease to exist.
Lexis Printing: You may print research materials from Lexis for free. This does not include email or word processing documents. Please pick up your print jobs at the Lexis Printer on the Law Library's first floor.
Students who wish to print from their personal laptop computers will have to download software available from the UNH IT department here.
Adding Money to an ID Card
All ID holders have a UNH Cat's Cache account that can be used as soon as a deposit is made to the account.
Cat's Cache can be accessed via your MyUNH account.
Once that is accomplished, you can view transactions, statements and balances, make deposits and suspend a lost or stolen card. The Cat's Cache system is maintained by UNH Dining Services in Durham. During normal business hours, you can call the Dining/ID Office at (603) 862-1821
Check out the UNH Law Exam Archive (from 2014-present).
Law Review and Moot Court are fantastic opportunities for students to hone their skills in research, writing, organization, oral advocacy and leadership. UNH Law has two law review opportunities for students; UNH Law Review and IDEA. These are student-led organizations and more information on them can be found at https://law.unh.edu/academics/journals and https://law.unh.edu/academics/experiential-education/moot-court
The following research guides have been developed for students participating in either Law Review or Moot Court but may be helpful to students wishing to learn more.
The UNH Law Library, following the best practices defined by the American Library Association and the Northeast Document Conservatory, which states that "time is the best disinfectant." The Conservatory recommends, "a minimum 3-day quarantine of the following collection items: plain paper pages inside a book, paperback and hardback book covers, DVD cases, archival folders, and plastic book coverings."
So, if a book is returned on the 10th of the month, it will be "in quarantine" the 11th, 12th, and 13th. On the 14th, it can be checked out again.
Ask Us! is a chat service offered by the Law Library for the UNH Franklin Pierce Law School students, faculty and staff.
New Research help hours:
Monday, Wednesday, Friday - 12p.m. to 3p.m. EST
Tuesday, Thursday - 10a.m. to 2p.m. EST
Enter your question here if a Law Librarian is not able to chat with you.