Home - Hybrid JD - Civil Procedure - UNH Franklin Pierce Law School Law Library at University of New Hampshire School of Law

Civil Procedure Study Aids

Acing Civil Procedure, 4th by Adam Spencer
Call Number: West Academic - Hybrid JD only
ISBN: 9781628100419
Publication Date: 2014-05-19
Available on West Academic Electronic Study Aids - Moving beyond the outline format used by most students, this book uses a checklist format to lead students through the questions they need to ask and answer to fully analyze the legal questions they are trying to resolve. It assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but this book offers a systematic approach to problem solving.
A Short and Happy Guide to Civil Procedure by Richard D. Freer
Call Number: West Academic - Hybrid JD only
ISBN: 9781684672288
Publication Date: 2019-08-21
Of the first-year subjects, Civil Procedure is the most foreign to students' experience. This book unlocks Civil Procedure by explaining doctrine and rules and placing them in context - showing what each doctrine is doing and how each doctrine relates to the others. It includes a chapter on how law school differs from college and what that means for class- and exam-preparation. It provides concrete analytical frameworks for resolving exam questions. And throughout, scores of examples allow you to apply the law to fact patterns.
Gilbert Law Summary on Civil Procedure by Richard Marcus; Thomas Rowe
Call Number: West Academic - Hybrid JD only
ISBN: 9781683281016
Publication Date: 2017-07-25
The topics discussed in this law school study outline include territorial (personal) jurisdiction (including venue and forum non conveniens), subject matter jurisdiction (covering diversity jurisdiction, federal question jurisdiction, and supplemental jurisdiction). Explains the Erie doctrine and federal common law, pleadings (including counterclaims, cross-claims, supplemental pleadings), parties (including joinder and class actions). Coverage also includes discovery (including devices, scope, sanctions and discovery conferences), summary judgment, pretrial conference and settlements, trial (including right to jury trial, motions, jury instruction and arguments, and post-verdict motions), appeals, claim preclusion (res judicata) and issue preclusion (collateral estoppel). Includes an extensive Capsule Summary of all the topics covered, Review Questions keyed to the outline's coverage, and sample essay questions and answers. Throughout the outline, there are also Exam Tips and charts to summarize and explain the material. 2017 Update Memo available here.

Civil Procedure Casebook

Civil Procedure by Stephen C. Yeazell; Joanna C. Schwartz
Call Number: KF8839 .Y43 2016
ISBN: 9781454868347
Publication Date: 2015-12-17
The book gives students a working knowledge of the procedural system and introduces the techniques of statutory analysis. The cases selected are factually interesting and do not involve substantive matters beyond the experience of first-year students. The problems following the cases present real-life issues. Finally, the book incorporates a number of dissenting opinions to dispel the notion that most procedural disputes present clear-cut issues. Key Features of the New Edition: Procedures as Strategy Notes: brief notes enabling students to see how lawyers use procedural tools to implement litigation strategy. Assessment Questions: each chapter ends with a series of brief questions allowing students to test their comprehension of basic concepts. New Material on Erie, pleading, discovery, arbitration, preclusion, class actions, and joinder.

Secondary Sources - to help you understand the law

Westlaw (Law only, password required) This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is an online legal research service owed by Thomson Reuters. It has federal and state databases of statutes, cases and regulations. as well as newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources.

Westlaw includes a variety of treatises that can help you explore Civil Procedure including:

Federal Practice and Procedure by Charles Allen Wright and Arthur Miller
Call Number: KF8840 .W69
Also available on Westlaw.

Covering all aspects of federal civil, criminal and appellate procedure. Provides extensive analysis of each rule as interpreted and applied by the federal courts and affected by related statutes and rules.

LexisNexis (Law only, password required) This link opens in a new window
LexisAdvanced is a database of databases and includes federal and state statutes, cases and regulations. It also has a wealth of secondary sources (resources to help you understand the law) on every subject.

Moore's Federal Practice
Moore's 35 volumes include the full text of the federal rules along with extensive commentary and analysis of the rules and cases interpreting the rules.

Online Study Aids - Hybrid JD students only

UNH Hybrid JD students -

Create a West Academic account which allows you to take notes, highlight, save favorites, download titles for offline access, and more.

1. Go to subscription.westacademic.com

2. Click Create an Account in the upper right-hand corner and follow the prompts

3. Please use your school email address

4. Setup your account and verify your email address

Once your account is properly set-up, you can log-in independently from your school’s network.

Questions? Ask us!

Ask Us! is a chat service offered by the Law Library for the UNH Franklin Pierce School of Law students, faculty and staff.

Chat service will not be offered during the summer months. You can still type a question in the box. The box will be regularly checked and answered. You can also email any of the law librarians with your question, and we'll get right on it.

CALI Lessons

CALI Tutorials (Law only, password required) This link opens in a new window Includes 800 computer-based tutorials in over 39 different legal subject areas, including professional responsibility, civil procedure, contracts legal research, legal writing and more. Also includes ebooks, minipodcasts (Lawdibles). [Authorization Code required to create account. Ask a Law Librarian for Access Code using Ask Us

CALI tutorials are a great way to fine-tune your understanding of a subject. CALI has gathered all of its lessons relative to Civil Procedure together at https://www.cali.org/category/1l-first-year-lesson-topics/civil-procedure

The Major Series

The Law Library has many study aids in the Academic Success Annex but, many of them are part of a series. A list of the major series and a description of each is below. (Clicking on the series name brings you to a list of titles and call numbers in the Law Library catalog.)

Black Letter Outlines (West Academic)

Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course.

Crunchtime (Wolters Kluwer)

Crunchtime outlines are designed for exam studying. Each book contains flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers

Emanuel Law Outlines (Aspen)

Emanuel Law Outlines are well-correlated to all major casebooks to help you to create your own outlines. Sophisticated yet easy to understand, each guide includes both capsule and detailed explanations of critical issues, topics, and black letter law you must know to master the course.

Examples and Explanations (Wolters Kluwer)

The Examples & Explanations ("E&E") series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

Gilbert Law Summaries (West Academic)

Each Gilbert includes a concise capsule summary, comprehensive outline of the law, and charts, as well as exam tips, and multiple choice, true/false, and essay questions with explained answers.

Hornbooks (West Publishing)

Hornbooks are one-volume treatises written primarily for law students on subjects typically covered by law school courses. Unlike casebooks, which are collections of cases (or excerpts of cases) chosen to help illustrate and stimulate discussion about legal issues, hornbooks attempt to summarize and explain the law in a specific area.

Law in a Flash (Wolters Kluwer)

Good for exam study, Law in a Flash Cards are pre-made flash cards. Each card has a question on one side and a concise answer on the reverse side.

Nutshells (West Academic)

Nutshells are compact, soft-covered study guides that explain the most important issues of law, highlighting key cases and statutes.

Q&As (LexisNexis)

This study guides include multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 40 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question,there is a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less.

Sum & Substance (West Academic)

Audio CDs on various topics of law. Good if you have a long commute to school or, want to review Torts as you work out. These are housed at the law library circulation desk.

Understanding (LexisNexis)

The concise, yet comprehensive, analysis contained in each Understanding title provides a foundation for true understanding of the subject and facilitates more than mere rote learning.

Hybrid JD - Civil Procedure: Home

Introduction