Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Note - website still in process
This section of the website is still being developed.
Case law - International Criminal Law
International Crimes Database
From the About page - The International Crimes Database (ICD) website, hosted and maintained by the T.M.C. Asser Instituut in The Hague and supported by the Dutch Ministry of Security and Justice and the International Centre for Counter-Terrorism – The Hague, offers a comprehensive database on international crimes adjudicated by national, as well as international and internationalized courts.
In addition to case law on international crimes, the website incorporates general background information about international crimes, scholarly as well as news articles, working papers (ICD Briefs) and relevant links to other useful databases/websites on this topic. It is not our aim to be exclusive; rather, we hope that visitors of our website will be attracted to its ‘spider in the web’-character. ICD aims to be the starting point for any online search in international crime. Whether the information found in the end is downloaded from another site or database is of less importance. What is important is that the information is found, and we believe that this site is the best place to start that quest for information.
Case law - Human Rights
OHCHR: the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights
from the About page - This database provides easy access to jurisprudence emanating from the United Nations Treaty Bodies which receive and consider complaints from individuals: the Human Rights Committee (CCPR), the Committee against Torture (CAT), the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD), the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), the Committee on Enforced Disappearances (CED), the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR), and the Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC).
RefWorld - United Nations Commissioner of Human Rights
RefWorld from the UNHCR: the United Nations High Commissioner of Human Rights, organized by country and topic. Provides court interventions by country or topic (court interventions can include amicus curiae, advisory opinions & public statements.)
Case law - Portals
Hague Justice portal
from the About page - An innovative project created by The Hague Academic Coalition, the Portal was officially launched in April 2006. In addition to the core legal institutions in The Hague such as the International Court of Justice, the International Criminal Court and the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, the Portal promotes, and provides greater access to, the work and the development of the large number of other international organisations, institutes and research centres based in The Hague, which are relevant to the pursuit of international peace, justice and security.
The portal is an excellent resource to keep up to date with recent developments in the field of justice worldwide. Since its inception, the Hague Justice Portal has enjoyed increasing popularity not only in the Netherlands, but also throughout Europe and around the world, informing visitors about recent developments and the work of institutions based in The Hague.