Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Legal Resources - how to know what's reliable?
In addition to Westlaw, Lexis and Bloomberg and the variety of subscription databases available at the UNH Franklin Pierce Law Library, there are many free resources available as well. Using some of these suggestions can ensure you are using reliable content. When you're evaluating a resource (website, database, book, etc.) please be sure to remember asking yourselves more about the resource. For instance, what can you tell about the resource?
Is the author a trusted organization? An author with expertise in the topic?
Does the website take one side over another or is it trying to be neutral in its delivery of information? Advocacy group websites can be a valuable source of information, but may only present a view leaning in one direction or another
What is the date of publication? When was it last updated?
Do they cite reliable sources? Are the citations accurate so you can locate the cited resource?
Here are some other resources put together by Pace Law Library for fact-checking a source.
Federal Statutes and Legislation
Some starting points to finding statutes and regulations.
GovInfo - Portal - Provides access federal government publications (cases, statutes, regulations). Govinfo is the new FDsys. Has public and private laws enacted from the 104th Congress (1995-1996) to the present. Beginning with the 110th Congress (2007-2008), the laws are digitally signed and certified. Authentic copies!
U.S. Constitution Research Guide - Law Library of Congress guide to the U.S. Constitution, with the text and additional resources.
United States Legislative - Law Library of Congress guide to the legislative process and Congress, includes overview, procedural manuals, Congressional Record, and other Congressional reports and publications.
United States Code - Has historic access to U.S. Code editions back to 1994.
New Hampshire cases, statutes and regulations
Free to all UNH Law law students -
Casemakerx - requires registration with your UNH Law email. Has all NH cases, statutes, regulations and some agency opinions too. Also has cases from federal, state and tribal courts too.
Laws of New Hampshire - New Hampshire Law (RSA) and Bill search as well as info on the General Court (legislature)
New Hampshire Administrative Law - Take a look at this Guide to learn more about NH Rules and their process.
State Courts and caselaw
State Courts and how they operate
National Center for State Courts - National organization that collects data on state courts and also includes links to the state court websites.
Caselaw Portals and Databases
Casetext - Casetext’s allows the addition of personalized metadata to documents and filters to refine subsequent searches. Casetext uses term proximity and keyword boosting. The AI product CARA is available for a fee. The core database is free. Findlaw - Portal with searchable decisions from federal and state courts.
Justia – Portal that has Supreme Court cases, Courts of Appeals cases beginning with 1950, district court cases beginning with 2004, some state case law.
Public Library of Law – Portal that includes all appellate level federal cases (Supreme court and Courts of Appeal) as well as state cases beginning with 1997.
Supreme Court Database - Contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between 1791 and 2018.
Annual edition, 1996 to present, from GovInfo.
e-CFR is a currently updated version of the CFR. It is not an official legal edition of the CFR but it is a integration of the CFR and the Federal Register in one place.
Available through GovInfo and includes current and prior versions of the Federal Register back to 1970. Can sign up for free daily updates via email.
Information on federal regulations. Includes Unified Agenda, the RegMap, and links to the CFR, FR, e-CFR and Regulations.gov.
Interactive website that allows you to find, review, and submit comments on Federal regulations that are open for comment and published in the Federal Register. Searchable by agency, type of document, docket number, and keyword.