Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding the right source
Treatises are books that focus on a specific subject or area of the law. Lexis, Westlaw, Bloomberg, and HeinOnline are great places to look for subject treatises. They don't have everything though so also consider other sources such as PLI Discover for really practical areas in the areas of Intellectual Property. You can get to all of the databases we subscribe to using the Databases A-Z List
If you want one-stop searching, remember to use the Library Search which will search books, ebooks and legal and non-legal articles.
West's Legal Forms by
Call Number: KF170 .M7
Great examples of common legal forms. Also available on Westlaw.
American jurisprudence pleading & practice forms annotated
Call Number: KF8836 .A4
Also available on Westlaw
Examples of Nationally focused treatises
Has helpful handbooks on topics like Consumer Class Actions, Credit Discrimination, Mortgage Lending and more. Try an Author search in Library Search for National Consumer Law Center for the library's collection of these materials.
Powell on Real Property
See LexisAdvance for up to date copy.
Substantive criminal law by
Call Number: KF9219 .L386 2017
Search and seizure : a treatise on the Fourth Amendment by
Call Number: KF9630.L3 S4 2012
5 volume set. Available on Westlaw
Criminal procedure by
Call Number: KF9619 .L34 2017
THE go-to source for criminal procedure questions. Also available on Westlaw.
State Practice Guides
Westlaw and Lexis provide access to the majority of state practice guides, state encyclopedias, and other state materials that can help you get a leg up in your research. Check here first if you have a state law question. For example, are you in Massachusetts? Check out Massachusetts Practice on Westlaw. New York? New York Jurisprudence 2d on LexisAdvance.
New Hampshire Practice Series
Call Number: KFN1280 .N4
Multi-volume set (green). Available on the main and 1st floors of the UNH Law Library. Also available on LexisAdvance
New Hampshire Practice and Procedure Handbook. by
Call Number: KFN1730 .N3 2016
Publication Date: 2016
This is a two-volume set published for new lawyers by the NH Bar Association. There is information on many topics here that are not covered by the Practice Series.
New Hampshire Civil Jury Instructions by
Call Number: KFN1742.6.A65 M87
This book is an easy way in to the seminal cases of New Hampshire Civil Law. Jury instructions cover subjects (e.g. Contracts, Corporations) not covered by the Practice Series.
Current Awareness sources
Subscription databases and newsletter to keep you up to date.
Law 360 - has a large amount of IP news as well as other areas too.
US Law Week on Bloomberg (Bloomberg password needed).
Create your own Current Awareness tools by using Alerts from Westlaw, Lexis and Bloomberg.
Creating an Alert on Westlaw (includes KeyCite)
Creating an Alert using LexisAdvance (includes Shepards)
Saving Searches and Alerts on Bloomberg
Working at an administrative agency? You can setup a Federal Register alert.
There are a number of law blogs ("blawgs") in specialized subject areas written by attorneys, professors, judges, students, and other legal specialists. Try these.
Legal Twitter is a thing... You can search Twitter by keyword to find recent tweets on a topic, or use the directories below to find lawyers and law professors who tweet.
NH Court Rules
Rules of the Supreme Court, Superior Court, Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rules of the Circuit Court (Probate, District and Family), Rules of Evidence, Rules of Professional Conduct and more
Rules and Policies of the United States Courts
Includes Rules of Federal Civil Procedure, Rules of Federal Criminal Procedure, Bankruptcy, etc.
United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit Rulebook
Includes - Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure
and First Circuit Local Rules, etc.
New Hampshire Court Rules Annotated
Call Number: KFN1729 .N40
Just as much fun as the court rules on line but, with annotations. Also annotates the New Hampshire Rules of Evidence. Available on LexisAdvance