Alternate Name(s)
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century,
Provides archived historical information, including Godey's Lady's Book: Parts I-III, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, and African American Newspapers: The 19th Century.
Full-text/full-image pages containing early biographies, vital statistics, editorials and advertisements. Includes Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The National Era among others. Dates of Coverage are from 1827-1870.
A collection of historical newspapers. Early American Newspapers from 1690-1922.
Digital archive that includes over 1,000 titles from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Our subscription currently includes Series 1, 1690-1876, Series 2, 1758-1900, and Series 3, 1829-1922.
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations.
Features curated primary-source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. The intention is to support a wide range of students, independent researchers, and anyone interested in learning more about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the US and the fights against it.
Includes legal content, company/market information, regulatory materials and news. Practice centers include bankruptcy, business, intellectual property, healthcare, ethics, labor, litigation, and more. Includes material previously on BNA Premier. A personal ID and password is required for access. UNH Law faculty, staff, and students should contact Sue Zago, sue.zago@law.unh.edu for assistance with this resource.
C
CALI Tutorials (Law only, password required)
Includes 800 computer-based tutorials in over 39 different legal subject areas, including professional responsibility, civil procedure, contracts legal research, legal writing and more. Also includes ebooks, minipodcasts (Lawdibles). [Authorization Code required to create account. Ask a Law Librarian for Access Code using Ask Us
Alternate Name(s)
Career Intelligence (Powered by Vault); Top Law Firms; Vault Law Rankings; Legal Practice Area Overviews; Law Firm Profiles; Vault Law
Vault is a career research tool containing more than 80 career guides and employer profiles, continually updated "insider" information on over 3,000 companies and 70 industries including employee surveys on thousands of top employers, a collection of company-specific message boards for employees, and an extensive free job board with thousands of top job openings.
A comprehensive tax and accounting research database covering tax and accounting laws and news on the international, federal, state and local levels. Provides access to a variety of primary sources, analysis, journals, news, cases, and rulings. UNH users may create a Checkpoint ID to take advantage of the training offerings; must be done on campus using your UNH email address. This database works best with latest versions of Firefox or Chrome.
Access for UNH and UNH Law current faculty, staff and students. This database access is provided by UNH Libraries.
Alternate Name(s)
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Includes fully-searchable text with added features such as tools for editors, a quick citation guide, and searchable access to the Chicago Style Q&A, wherein University of Chicago Press manuscript editors answer readers' editorial style questions. Includes access to the 16th and 17th editions.
The top nursing and allied health literature. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Select this database from the list on the Accessible Archives front page. A full-text, full-image collection of newspapers that includes eyewitness accounts and official reports of battles and events from the Civil War, advertisements, news articles and editorials. Coverage is from 1860-1865
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government of the United States. HeinOnlines coverage of the CFR is comprehensive, containing all volumes dating back to inception (1938).
The Foreign Law Guide (FLG) is an essential database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one place.
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Includes access to US Code as well as US Constitution, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register and more.
A collection of legal periodicals, government documents, historical monographs, international materials, bar journals, and other collections related to law. The collection includes thousands of legal periodicals and begins with the first issue of each journal.
Alternate Name(s)
HeinOnline’s Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment
BLASE
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment
Sports
Entertainment
BLASE is edited by Frank Houdek and Ed Edmonds, who both bring decades of work on the literature of sports and entertainment to this enterprise. The foundation of BLASE is the focused topical arrangement created by the editors after their analysis of more than 9,200 periodical articles. The treatment of sports-related material is comprehensive, while the approach to entertainment-related material concentrates on movies, music, television, and theater. Each topic contains a scope note that explains the focus of a given topic and the methodology used by the editors when assigning topics to a particular article. This approach, with some slight modifications, is also used for the material in the remaining fourteen tabs, which cover resources other than scholarly articles. The topic assignment is particularly helpful with the tabs that offer a large selection of books and an extensive bibliography of other relevant publications because it allows users to organize and filter titles by topic in addition to alphabetical or chronological arrangement.
In addition to full-text books and bibliographies with links to WorldCat holdings, the collection also contains federal and state documents, including legislative histories; House and Senate hearings and reports; committee prints; and reports from the Comptroller General, the Congressional Research Service, and the Government Accountability Office. The editors also provide carefully selected lists of court decisions important for researching particular issues in both sports and entertainment. The lists include citations and brief annotations describing the significance of each of the highlighted decisions.
Examples of the many business and legal areas included in the database are antitrust and labor law, athlete and entertainer representation, content regulation, contracts, criminal law, gender and race discrimination, governance, injuries and violence, intellectual property, health and safety issues, and publicity rights. By providing a wide range of materials on these and many other topics, the editors have sought to produce a truly comprehensive treatment of both sports and entertainment.
Additional features include an extensive collection of links to relevant external websites, organized topically; full-text access to the valuable publications of the National Sports Institute of Marquette University; and material pertaining to the Athlete Agents Act organized by annual meetings.
HeinOnline's Canada Supreme Court Reports contains the official bilingual series published under authority of the Supreme Court Act. This collection includes nearly 10,000 cases which include background information, statutes and regulations, authors cited, analysis and the decision.
Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
The United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, is considered the most essential publication for unveiling American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, the American State Papers, and much more. This ongoing project in HeinOnline will be released in phases and will soon contain complete coverage of the Serial Set. The Serial Set is indexed from inception to date and contains comprehensive full-text coverage from 1978-date. In addition, the HeinOnline interface is easy to search and browse and contains unique tools to help users quickly locate specific content.
Compiling federal government reports and publications on the various ways COVID-19 has impacted every aspect of life, this database is organized into the following areas of impact: Economics, Global, Health, and Society.
Alternate Name(s)
Criminal Justice and Criminology
This collection offers an historical overview of how criminal justice has changed in American and English law and the effect criminology has had in facilitating those changes. It collects government documents as well as rare or hard to find pamphlets, memoirs, and books written by ordinary law enforcement officers and not-so-famous criminals.
This database contains coverage of cases from the late 1700s through the 1920s including the entire Federal Cases 30 book series (1894-1897) which contains more than 20,000 cases. Also included is the Trinity Series, which features American Decisions, American Reports, and American State Reports.
The English Reports database delivers exact page images of the original bound reprint edition, containing more than 120,000 cases, together with the Indexes and Book of Charts. In addition, multiple navigation tools, such as a Case Locator, Chart Tool, and an Advanced Search feature enhance the ease of access to specific cases.
English Reports Full Reprint
Vols. 1-176 (1220-1867)
Chart of Reports
Statutes of the Realm
Vols. 1-11 (1235-1713)
English Law Reports (pre-1865)
Various other related works
Alternate Name(s)
ECMI, European Centre for Minority Issues
The European Center for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. This library contains several publications of the ECMI, including ECMI Reports, Annual Reports, Working Papers, and much more.
Alternate Name(s)
U.S. Executive Privilege collection
Providing primary and secondary source material such as government documents from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches, as well as law review articles and books, this database explores executive privilege from the country's founding to the present day.
In addition to the inclusion of comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers, this database also includes a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories.
Alternate Name(s)
Federal Register, FR, FR Archive
The Federal Register is the official journal of the federal government of the United States. The database is updated daily and its coverage is comprehensive, beginning from inception in 1936. It also includes the CFR from inception (1938), Official US Bulletin (1917-1919), United States Government Manual from inception (1935), and Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965).
The Foreign & International Law Resources Database (FILRD) includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.
Alternate Name(s)
United States Government Accountability Office
HeinOnline's GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions database contains reports on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of federal programs conducted by the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO). All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included.
This collection brings together more than 500 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the United States v. Miller and District of Columbia v. Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject.
Alternate Name(s)
SCOTUS, United States Supreme Court
This database features the complete print series Supreme Court of the U.S. Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices by the Senate Judiciary Committee. The Browse by Justice option allows the user to link directly to relevant content, articles, and bibliography as applicable to each justice!
Alternate Name(s)
International Law Association Reports
The International Law Association's objectives are the study, clarification and development of international law, both public and private, and the furtherance of international understanding and respect for international law. The International Law Association Reports of Conferences contain the International Committees' reports and a record of the discussions at the Conference working sessions, together with the adopted Resolutions.
This database contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination. Also included are books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic.
Includes full text (pdf format), retrospective holdings of over 1,400 law reviews and legal journals. Full text searching is available, as well as browse searching by most-cited law journals, core U.S./most cited law journals, American Bar Association journals, international and non-U.S. law journals, and criminal justice journals.
This database contains thousands of works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin N. Cardozo, and many more! In addition to many classic treatises, this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.
This collection consists of materials relating to the gay rights movement in America from 1950 until present day, including an interactive timeline, as well as subject-coded court cases, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, reports, and more.
This manual is published to provide U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) examiners, applicants, attorneys, agents, and representatives of applicants with a reference work on the practices and procedures relative to the prosecution of patent applications before the USPTO. It contains instructions to examiners, as well as other material relevant to information and interpretation, and outlines the current procedures which the examiners are required or authorized to follow in appropriate cases in the normal examination of a patent application. Collection includes the 1st through the 9th editions.
The Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory has long been a reliable source of information on law firms, banks, and real estate offices in every United States city for lawyers, bankers, merchants, manufacturers and others. In addition to providing addresses and contact information for law firms, the Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory also contains ratings and a section on foreign lawyers and law firms. HeinOnline now includes the historical archive of this publication from its inception in 1868 to 1963.
Alternate Name(s)
National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws, Model Acts
This database provides access to the full text of all Model Acts drafted, recommended, or endorsed by the National Conference of Commissions on Uniform State Laws (NCCUSL). It also includes Archive Publications and the Handbook of the NCCUSL, as well as the Proceedings of the Annual Conference Meeting from the first through the most recent Annual Meeting.
Alternate Name(s)
Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force, United States Department of Defense, Vietnam, U.S. Military Involvement
The Pentagon Papers, officially titled Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force, is a United States Department of Defense history of the United States' political and military involvement in Vietnam from 1945 to 1967.
To help researchers understand these rare but always fascinating historical events, HeinOnline now offers a new collection, U.S. Presidential Impeachment. Organized by the four affected presidents, this collection brings together a variety of documents both contemporaneous and asynchronous to each president's impeachment, presenting both a snapshot of the political climate as each impeachment played out and the long view history has taken of each proceeding.
This unique resource contains the most current and extensive listing of publications created by presidential advisory bodies. The companion database features not only the bibliographic listing of reports, but also related hearings, scholarly articles, and more!
Alternate Name(s)
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. It includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
State Statutes: A Historical Archive includes superseded state statutes for all fifty states. This database provides an avenue to understand the creation of historical statutes and includes coverage back until 1717.
The Statutes of the Realm is an authoritative collection of Acts of the Parliament of England from the earliest times to the Union of the Parliaments in 1707, and Acts of the Parliament of Great Britain passed up to the death of Queen Anne in 1714.
This database features bibliographic records from Cheryl Nyberg's Subject Compilations Bibliography Series. This resource aids researchers in identifying thousands of articles, books, government documents, looseleaf services, court opinions and Internet sites that compare state laws on hundreds of subjects.
This collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. It also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code.
Alternate Name(s)
U.S. Congressional Documents, Legislative History documents
This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (early 1900s-present), as well as other important congressional material such as hearings, CRS Reports, and much more.
Alternate Name(s)
HeinOnline U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
Federal Legislative History
Includes comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers. Also has a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories.
This database includes messages and papers of the presidents, daily and weekly compilations of presidential documents, public papers of the presidents, documents relating to impeachment, Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and a host of other related works.
This database includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, featuring every law, public and private, treaty, ever enacted by Congress. It also includes early federal codes and compilations of statutes, as well as other related works.
This database includes complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes, as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court.
The Treaties and Agreements Library contains ALL of the U.S. treaties, whether currently in force, expired, or not yet officially published. This library is the world's largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements. It includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set ("The Blue Set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
Alternate Name(s)
University of North Carolina Press, collection
This unique database contains more than 400 titles from the internationally acclaimed University of North Carolina Press. These UNC Press publications cover a variety of timely topics and include both current and historical titles.
This database provides access to the full text of all Model Acts drafted, recommended, or endorsed by the National Conference of Commissions on Uniform State Laws (NCCUSL). It also includes Archive Publications and the Handbook of the NCCUSL, as well as the Proceedings of the Annual Conference Meeting from the first through the most recent Annual Meeting.
HeinOnline editors have analyzed every title within this collection and assigned each title one or more unique title-level subjects. These subjects are: Absentee Voting, Ballots, Campaign Finance, Election Administration, Election Integrity, Election Outcomes, Election Reform, Electoral College, Federal Election Commission, Gerrymandering, Legislative Redistricting, Political Campaigns, Suffrage, Voter Identification, Voter Registration, and Voting Rights. These subjects are both browsable and searchable, allowing users to better target their research.
While presidential elections often receive the most attention, both in terms of study and in voter turnout, this collection focuses on issues relating to and directly about both local and federal elections—including presidential elections, but also encompassing House and Senate elections, as well as state elections. Included in this collection are titles on contested Senate results, debates on extending the vote to D.C. residents, analyses on apportionment and redistricting, and even a scandalous account of fraud in a municipal Indiana election in 1886.
In addition to content about U.S. elections, users will also find hundreds of titles about elections around the world, from elections in Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. These titles report on the outcomes of specific national elections, while others chronicle citizens’ struggles for a free and fair electorate, providing a global overview of election systems.
Complimenting the various books, treatises, reports, legislative histories, congressional hearings and more included within this collection, users will also find hundreds of scholarly articles hand-picked by HeinOnline editors. Articles are both contemporaneous and historical, providing insights both into the scholarly discourse of historical issues and how that discourse has both evolved and impacts the present. New articles will be added monthly. Finally, a bibliography of recommended titles allows users to take their research beyond HeinOnline. OCLC records are linked within this bibliography to help users find these books in a nearby library.
Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies, and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law. It provides a convenient platform for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years.
A resource for comparative constitutional law research. It contains the current constitution for every country; past constitutions; substantial constitutional histories for many countries such as the UK, France, Brazil and Columbia as well as classic works, constitutional legal periodicals and links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographies of important works. This database is continuing to grow and improve as the publisher is seeking contributions from global scholars to develop the constitutional knowledge of every country.
JSTOR is a digital archive of academic journals, books, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Also includes monographs and high-quality images.
Lex Machina is a legal analytics tool that provides data-driven insights to help legal professionals win cases and business. It uses machine learning, natural language processing, and technology-assisted human review to analyze millions of pages of litigation data. Lex Machina's data is updated every 24 hours.
Available to current law students, faculty and staff only.
LexisNexis (Lexis) is a resource for State and Federal cases, codes, administrative materials, practice materials, news, and a wealth of analytic content such as Matthew Bender titles. This password-accessible resource also provides extensive news coverage, public records, and live online research assistance. Available only for UNHFP Law faculty, staff, and students.
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Law is an excellent starting point for research on topics pertaining to international law and the UN. It provides peer-reviewed, brief, authoritative overviews of complex topics, with a bibliography for further investigation.
Provides current articles, classifieds, and the crossword puzzle from the New York times, plus the TimesMachine and archives in a variety of categories.
To access, first time users must select University of New Hampshire from the drop down menu, then register with their UNH email address.
Indexing and full text documents for over 5600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. This is an excellent database for information on current issues or business.
Alternate Name(s)
Public Affairs Information Service
PAIS International from ProQuest contains journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
PLI Discover Plus
Practising Law Institute's (PLI) Discover PLUS provides comprehensive access to PLI content published since 2008, including treatises, answer books, course handbooks, and exclusive access to seminar transcripts. Topical areas include corporate and securities law, intellectual property, litigation, and real estate. Individual chapters are available as downloadable PDFs, while forms, templates, and sample documents from across PLI's library can be individually retrieved and edited.
Alternate Name(s)
Humanities and Social Science scholarly content.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world.
Project MUSE has over 800 journals from 125 publishers and offers over 80,000 books from more than 140 presses. MUSE also offers over 4000 open access books on the platform.
Essential for compiling a federal legislative history. Tools include finding aides, bill-tracking, indexing services, and selective full-text for numerous congressional and related publications. Full-text coverage includes published congressional hearings (1824-latest available), unpublished congressional hearings (1824-latest available), committee prints (1830-current), the Congressional Record (1789-1997), CRS Reports (1916-current), and Executive Orders and Proclamations (1789-current).
Alternate Name(s)
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
As an extension of the Queen Mary Intellectual Property Research Institute's reputation as one of the foremost centres for intellectual property research and education, QMJIP has become an important forum for quality scholarship in this field, publishing full-length articles as well as analysis pieces and case reports, on a quarterly basis.
Alternate Name(s)
Indian Law, Intellectual Property, WIPO
You will need to enter your UNH law email address as a login ID under "IP Access". If this is the first time you are accessing SCC Online Web Edition using this email id, then you will be prompted to register for this login id, otherwise, you will be logged into your account. No password is required.
Bibliographic and access information for thousands of serials. Entries provide ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Alternate Name(s)
Please note that this is not the same as Westlaw Edge (password only). There is some basic legal content
An online legal resource for law-related areas such as criminal justice, social work, business and education. This research tool features legal encyclopedias, court decisions, law reviews and journals, statutes, and more. Not the same as Westlaw Edge (password, Law only).
Alternate Name(s)
West Law, Precision, WestlawNext
A vast legal research system that provides access to statutes, case law materials, public records, treatises, news and business information. Includes the KeyCite citation checking and research assistance. A personal ID is required for current UNHFP Law faculty, staff and students.
Includes legal content, company/market information, regulatory materials and news. Practice centers include bankruptcy, business, intellectual property, healthcare, ethics, labor, litigation, and more. Includes material previously on BNA Premier. A personal ID and password is required for access. UNH Law faculty, staff, and students should contact Sue Zago, sue.zago@law.unh.edu for assistance with this resource.
CALI Tutorials (Law only, password required)
Includes 800 computer-based tutorials in over 39 different legal subject areas, including professional responsibility, civil procedure, contracts legal research, legal writing and more. Also includes ebooks, minipodcasts (Lawdibles). [Authorization Code required to create account. Ask a Law Librarian for Access Code using Ask Us
A comprehensive tax and accounting research database covering tax and accounting laws and news on the international, federal, state and local levels. Provides access to a variety of primary sources, analysis, journals, news, cases, and rulings. UNH users may create a Checkpoint ID to take advantage of the training offerings; must be done on campus using your UNH email address. This database works best with latest versions of Firefox or Chrome.
Access for UNH and UNH Law current faculty, staff and students. This database access is provided by UNH Libraries.
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Includes access to US Code as well as US Constitution, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register and more.
A collection of legal periodicals, government documents, historical monographs, international materials, bar journals, and other collections related to law. The collection includes thousands of legal periodicals and begins with the first issue of each journal.
Includes full text (pdf format), retrospective holdings of over 1,400 law reviews and legal journals. Full text searching is available, as well as browse searching by most-cited law journals, core U.S./most cited law journals, American Bar Association journals, international and non-U.S. law journals, and criminal justice journals.
Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies, and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law. It provides a convenient platform for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years.
Lex Machina is a legal analytics tool that provides data-driven insights to help legal professionals win cases and business. It uses machine learning, natural language processing, and technology-assisted human review to analyze millions of pages of litigation data. Lex Machina's data is updated every 24 hours.
Available to current law students, faculty and staff only.
LexisNexis (Lexis) is a resource for State and Federal cases, codes, administrative materials, practice materials, news, and a wealth of analytic content such as Matthew Bender titles. This password-accessible resource also provides extensive news coverage, public records, and live online research assistance. Available only for UNHFP Law faculty, staff, and students.
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Law is an excellent starting point for research on topics pertaining to international law and the UN. It provides peer-reviewed, brief, authoritative overviews of complex topics, with a bibliography for further investigation.
Alternate Name(s)
West Law, Precision, WestlawNext
A vast legal research system that provides access to statutes, case law materials, public records, treatises, news and business information. Includes the KeyCite citation checking and research assistance. A personal ID is required for current UNHFP Law faculty, staff and students.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Alternate Name(s)
Career Intelligence (Powered by Vault); Top Law Firms; Vault Law Rankings; Legal Practice Area Overviews; Law Firm Profiles; Vault Law
Vault is a career research tool containing more than 80 career guides and employer profiles, continually updated "insider" information on over 3,000 companies and 70 industries including employee surveys on thousands of top employers, a collection of company-specific message boards for employees, and an extensive free job board with thousands of top job openings.
Alternate Name(s)
HeinOnline’s Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment
BLASE
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment
Sports
Entertainment
BLASE is edited by Frank Houdek and Ed Edmonds, who both bring decades of work on the literature of sports and entertainment to this enterprise. The foundation of BLASE is the focused topical arrangement created by the editors after their analysis of more than 9,200 periodical articles. The treatment of sports-related material is comprehensive, while the approach to entertainment-related material concentrates on movies, music, television, and theater. Each topic contains a scope note that explains the focus of a given topic and the methodology used by the editors when assigning topics to a particular article. This approach, with some slight modifications, is also used for the material in the remaining fourteen tabs, which cover resources other than scholarly articles. The topic assignment is particularly helpful with the tabs that offer a large selection of books and an extensive bibliography of other relevant publications because it allows users to organize and filter titles by topic in addition to alphabetical or chronological arrangement.
In addition to full-text books and bibliographies with links to WorldCat holdings, the collection also contains federal and state documents, including legislative histories; House and Senate hearings and reports; committee prints; and reports from the Comptroller General, the Congressional Research Service, and the Government Accountability Office. The editors also provide carefully selected lists of court decisions important for researching particular issues in both sports and entertainment. The lists include citations and brief annotations describing the significance of each of the highlighted decisions.
Examples of the many business and legal areas included in the database are antitrust and labor law, athlete and entertainer representation, content regulation, contracts, criminal law, gender and race discrimination, governance, injuries and violence, intellectual property, health and safety issues, and publicity rights. By providing a wide range of materials on these and many other topics, the editors have sought to produce a truly comprehensive treatment of both sports and entertainment.
Additional features include an extensive collection of links to relevant external websites, organized topically; full-text access to the valuable publications of the National Sports Institute of Marquette University; and material pertaining to the Athlete Agents Act organized by annual meetings.
To help researchers understand these rare but always fascinating historical events, HeinOnline now offers a new collection, U.S. Presidential Impeachment. Organized by the four affected presidents, this collection brings together a variety of documents both contemporaneous and asynchronous to each president's impeachment, presenting both a snapshot of the political climate as each impeachment played out and the long view history has taken of each proceeding.
