Copyright for Schools: a Practical Guide, 6th Edition by
This updated edition of Copyright for Schools explains U.S. copyright law as it applies to education settings clearly and concisely for teachers and school librarians. Topics new to this edition include copyright implications related to the use of such streaming services as Netflix(tm) and Pandora(tm), links to online tools that teachers can use to assist them in making their own daily decisions regarding the use of copyrighted materials, and implications relating to the use of anonymous internet publishing tools such as Snapchat(tm) and use of Cloud-based sharing. Other new topics include issues related to disability, how to appropriately respond to cease and desist letters and other legal inquiries, implications of the Music Modernization Act, and expanded discussion of open resources such as Creative Commons licenses. This edition also adds a concordance in a "Scope and Sequence" table format, so all information related to U.S. copyright knowledge is accessible no matter where it resides within the text, and provides links to online tools and resources that can be used to guide users of copyrighted materials in making decisions about how to use them. Still included are the real-world applications and the Q&A sidebars from prior editions.
Creating R&d Incentives for Medicines for Neglected Diseases by
Virtually no research is targeted at developing medicines for tropical diseases as the expected market returns from R&D into these diseases in the private pharmaceuticals sector are too low. Frank Müller-Langer addresses the market failure with respect to R&D for medicines for tropical diseases and the lack of short-term access to affordable medicines in poor countries. The author analyzes additional push and pull mechanisms to stimulate R&D for pharmaceutical products alongside patent protection which may help mitigate the problem of those consumers in poor countries who lack access to affordable medicines. Furthermore, he reasons that a global regime of banning parallel trade from low-income countries to high-income countries is desirable from a developing country's perspective.
The BVR Intellectual Property Valuation Case Law Compendium by
Intellectual property (IP) valuation and litigation continue to make headlines - especially when damages are involved. Every financial expert and attorney practicing in this area needs to keep up with legal precedent - and stay ahead of new and evolving methodologies. This 4th edition of BVR's IP Valuation Case Law Compendium puts all vital thought leadership and case law at your fingertips.Bolster your confidence with current analysis of over 200 legal decisions, new chapters that outline practical tactics for use in any IP engagement, and a list of the top 20 questions to ask when completing due diligence for an IP valuation. Add this must-have desktop reference to your bookshelf today!The 4th edition features an exclusive introduction by Sylvia Golden, Esq., Executive Legal Editor at BVR.
Face Recognition Technology Compulsory Visibility and Its Impact on Privacy and the Confidentiality of Personal Identifiable Images by
This book examines how face recognition technology is affecting privacy and confidentiality in an era of enhanced surveillance. Further, it offers a new approach to the complex issues of privacy and confidentiality, by drawing on Joseph K in Kafka’s disturbing novel The Trial, and on Isaiah Berlin’s notion of liberty and freedom. Taking into consideration rights and wrongs, protection from harm associated with compulsory visibility, and the need for effective data protection law, the author promotes ethical practices by reinterpreting privacy as a property right. To protect this right, the author advocates the licensing of personal identifiable images where appropriate. The book reviews American, UK and European case law concerning privacy and confidentiality, the effect each case has had on the developing jurisprudence, and the ethical issues involved. As such, it offers a valuable resource for students of ethico-legal fields, professionals specialising in image rights law, policy-makers, and liberty advocates and activists.
From Vultures to Vampires - Volume One 1995-2004 25 Years of Copyright Chaos and Technology Triumphs by 
A Commercial Law of Privacy and Security for the Internet of Things by
In the Internet of Things (IoT) era, online activities are no longer limited to desktop or laptop computers, smartphones and tablets. Instead, these activities now include ordinary tasks, such as using an internet-connected refrigerator or washing machine. At the same time, the IoT provides unlimited opportunities for household objects to serve as surveillance devices that continually monitor, collect and process vast quantities of our data. In this work, Stacy-Ann Elvy critically examines the consumer ramifications of the IoT through the lens of commercial law and privacy and security law. The book provides concrete legal solutions to remedy inadequacies in the law that will help usher in a more robust commercial law of privacy and security that protects consumer interests.
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by
First published in Portuguese in 1968, Pedagogy of the Oppressed was translated and published in English in 1970. The methodology of the late Paulo Freire has helped to empower countless impoverished and illiterate people throughout the world. Freire's work has taken on especial urgency in the United States and Western Europe, where the creation of a permanent underclass among the underprivileged and minorities in cities and urban centers is increasingly accepted as the norm.With a substantive new introduction on Freire's life and the remarkable impact of this book by writer and Freire confidant and authority Donaldo Macedo, this anniversary edition of Pedagogy of the Oppressed will inspire a new generation of educators, students, and general readers for years to come.
Intellectual Property and Information Rights for Librarians by
Including real-world scenarios and best practices, this text presents the important topics of patents, trademarks, and copyrights in relation to intellectual property creators and consumers. Comprehending intellectual property rights is critical in today's world in order to negotiate the challenges associated with all kinds of intellectual properties, from patents to trademarks to copyright. Created for courses but useful for a wide range of readers, Intellectual Property and Information Rights for Librarians teaches intellectual property literacy, allowing teachers and students to easily understand the range of intellectual property issues, including both creator and consumer rights. Author John Schlipp, an intellectual property librarian and professor, guides readers through intellectual property and information rights issues for today's professionals in information-based careers. Real-world issues are emphasized, including fair use, which is covered in reference to the First Amendment. Information rights topics examined include legal and ethical issues such as freedom of information, internet regulations, privacy, cybercrime, and security. This text serves as a comprehensive reference and a collection of best practices that addresses all types of intellectual properties in one book. Includes ways to identify the basic types of intellectual property and related laws Offers ways to recognize and distinguish the conceptual difference between intellectual property creators (authors, inventors, etc.) and consumers (users) in information-based situations Includes examples of fair use and First Amendment rights Explores legal and ethical issues involving intellectual freedom, internet regulations, privacy, cybercrime, and security Showcases ways to comprehend and examine intellectual property job-related applications for multiple types of library customers, media creators, and business branding specialists
U. S. Private-Sector Privacy, Third Edition by
Contents -
Preface -- Acknowledgments -- Introduction -- Introduction to privacy -- U.S. legal framework -- Federal and state regulators and enforcement of privacy law -- Principles of infomation management -- Online privacy -- California consumer privacy act -- State privacy, security, and data breach notification laws -- Medical privacy -- Financial privacy -- Education records and technology -- Telecommunications and marketing -- Workplace privacy -- Privacy issues in civil litigation and government investigations -- The GDPR and international privacy issues -- Emerging issues.
European Data Protection, Second Edition by
"European Data Protection: Law and Practice examines the territorial and material scope of the GDPR, legitimate processing criteria, information provision obligations, data subjects rights, security of processing, accountability requirements, and supervision and enforcement. This second edition also includes updated information about GDPR enforcement actions, along with guidance -- relative to GDPR regulations -- from authorities and regulators, including the European Data Protection Board (EDPB)"-- $c Provided by publisher.
Criminal Procedure by
The ninth edition of this criminal procedure casebook incorporates significant rulings of the Court since the last edition--most notably, Carpenter v. United States (whether acquisition of historical cell site location records is a search), Collins v. Virginia (whether the automobile exception allows warrantless entries onto curtilage), Kansas v. Glover (whether knowledge that a vehicle's registered owner has a revoked license gives rise to a reasonable suspicion justifying a stop), and Byrd v. United States (whether a person not on a rental car contract but permitted to use a car by the renter has "standing" to object to a search). The text has been streamlined with the hope of assisting instructors pressed for time. Chapter Six (Entrapment) has been eliminated and a number of previously main cases have been reduced to note status. Finally, the problems for most of the chapters have been refreshed with a sampling of cutting-edge rulings by lower courts.
International Criminal Law by
International Criminal Law provides a set of teaching materials furnishing students with a grounding in the transnational issues likely to arise in federal criminal cases, and also in the law produced as a consequence of international efforts to impose criminal responsibility on the perpetrators of human rights atrocities. International Criminal Law offers, for teaching purposes, a collection of cases (mainly domestic) and other materials, together with notes and questions about those cases and materials. The Fourth Edition contains a new chapter on human trafficking.
Law Professor's Desk Reference by
Law Professor's Desk Reference serves as a how-to guide for faculty members, addressing the everyday issues that shape legal education as well as the growing external social and economic pressures reconceptualizing the study of law. Law school faculty members are expected to be legal scholars, effective teachers, and engaged institutional partners, but the information essential to develop these fundamentals skills has not been published in one single source, until now. The book provides a foundation to help faculty develop the best practices for student learning and engagement. It provides an important summary of learning outcomes, formative assessment, summative assessment, course design, and the operational mechanics needed to be an effective classroom and online teacher. The book offers faculty members a roadmap to develop meaningful scholarship with practical advice on how best to create a sustainable scholarly agenda. It explores the role faculty play in shared governance for their institutions. It addresses academic freedom, hiring procedures, tenure, and status issues. It also covers accreditation and various regulations on accessibility, accommodation requirements, Title IX, employment laws, plagiarism, and much more.