Geographical Indications of Indian Handlooms by
This book presents a comprehensive analysis of Geographical Indications (GI) in the Indian context with particular reference to the handloom sector. It discusses themes such as the rationale of GI as IP (intellectual property); the domestic position on GIs; GI protection under various international instruments; handlooms from Gujarat and their GI journey; the efficacy of GIs; and GI structure for handlooms. The volume fills the gap between law and policies and recommends the implementation of an efficient legal system. It highlights the status of Indian handlooms, a sector that represents the country's cultural heritage and supports a range of livelihoods. We examine India's GI protection system with its diverse cultures and explore how GI can help recognize, support and promote these products to bring socio-economic benefits. The work documents policy measures undertaken for the revival, restructuring and promotion of Indian handlooms and handicrafts, and will serve as an important intervention in Indian law on GI. An investigative study that evaluates the current law and policy on GI protection through detailed case studies and empirical research on select Indian handlooms, this book will be useful to scholars and researchers of geography, economics, development studies, sociology, law and public policy. It will also interest policymakers, legal practitioners, textile and handloom professionals, design and business administration institutes, media, arts and crafts museums and civil society organizations working on handlooms or in intellectual property.
Cybercrime and Information Technology by
Cybercrime and Information Technology: Theory and Practice--The Computer Network Infostructure and Computer Security, Cybersecurity Laws, Internet of Things (IoT), and Mobile Devices is an introductory text addressing current technology, trends, and security issues. While many books on the market cover investigations, forensic recovery, and presentation of evidence, and others explain computer and network security, this book explores both, explaining the essential principles governing computers, wireless and mobile devices, the Internet of Things, cloud systems, and their significant vulnerabilities. Only with this knowledge can students truly appreciate the security challenges and opportunities for cybercrime that cannot be uncovered, investigated, and adjudicated unless they are understood. The legal portion of the book is an overview of the legal system in the United States, including cyberlaw standards, and regulations affecting cybercrime. This section includes cases in progress that are shaping and developing legal precedents. As is often the case, new technologies require new statues and regulations--something the law is often slow to move on given the current speed in which technology advances. Key Features: Provides a strong foundation of cybercrime knowledge along with the core concepts of networking, computer security, Internet of Things (IoTs), and mobile devices. Addresses legal statutes and precedents fundamental to understanding investigative and forensic issues relative to evidence collection and preservation. Identifies the new security challenges of emerging technologies including mobile devices, cloud computing, Software-as-a-Service (SaaS), VMware, and the Internet of Things. Strengthens student understanding of the fundamentals of computer and network security, concepts that are often glossed over in many textbooks, and includes the study of cybercrime as critical forward-looking cybersecurity challenges. Cybercrime and Information Technology is a welcome addition to the literature, particularly for those professors seeking a more hands-on, forward-looking approach to technology and trends. Coverage is applicable to all forensic science courses in computer science and forensic programs, particularly those housed in criminal justice departments emphasizing digital evidence and investigation processes. The textbook is appropriate for courses in the Computer Forensics and Criminal Justice curriculum, and is relevant to those studying Security Administration, Public Administrations, Police Studies, Business Administration, Computer Science, and Information Systems. A Test Bank and chapter PowerPoint slides are available to qualified professors for use in classroom instruction.
The Poverty Law Canon by
The Poverty Law Canon takes readers into the lives of the clients and lawyers who brought critical poverty law cases in the United States. These cases involved attempts to establish the right to basic necessities, as well as efforts to ensure dignified treatment of welfare recipients and to halt administrative attacks on federal program benefit levels. They also confronted government efforts to constrict access to justice, due process, and rights to counsel in child support and consumer cases, social welfare programs, and public housing. By exploring the personal narratives that gave rise to these lawsuits as well as the behind-the-scenes dynamics of the Supreme Court, the text locates these cases within the social dynamics that shaped the course of litigation. Noted legal scholars explain the legal precedent created by each case and set the case within its historical and political context in a way that will assist students and advocates in poverty-related disciplines in their understanding of the implications of these cases for contemporary public policy decisions in poverty programs. Whether the focus is on the clients, on the lawyers, or on the justices, the stories in The Poverty Law Canon illuminate the central legal themes in federal poverty law of the late 20th century and the role that racial and economic stereotyping plays in shaping American law.
Patent Law and Policy by
The new eighth edition of this venerable and highly respected casebook represents a substantial revamping. It features an entirely new and detailed chapter on inter partes reviews, the most important new development in patent law in many years. The chapter on Section 101 has been completely rewritten from the ground up. It now reflects all the essential developments since the beginning of the Bilski-Mayo-Alice-Myriad era in 2010, and eliminates many outdated older cases. The chapter on novelty has been reworked in light of the new rules on priority and prior art. The treatment of remedies now includes extensive treatment of Standard Essential Patents (SEPs). Likewise, every other chapter--on enablement and written description, nonobviousness, and so on--has been updated to include the most recent and important cases. In addition, many helpful diagrams have been added to explain complex cases. And, in keeping with the tradition of the book, the book adds extensive references to the law review and scholarly literature in every chapter. For student and professor alike, the new edition represents comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of all corners and features of patent law.
Merritt and Simmons's Learning Evidence: from the Federal Rules to the Courtroom, 5th by 
Contracts - Examples & Explanations Series by
Examples and Explanations for Contract Law, Eighth Edition by Brian Blum provides new updates and additional cases for contract law in the student-loved Examples and Explanations format. The Examples and Explanations Series provides hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow modern contract law students to test their knowledge of the topics and compare their own analysis to the provided explanation. New to the Eighth Edition: New up-to-date cases in every chapter. Substantially rewritten text for added clarity and accessibility. New hypothetical illustrations in the text and new or revised examples and explanations. Professors and students will benefit from: Additional cases and updates to the text and examples while remaining faithful to the conception of a clear and accessible text, aimed at students in the basic contracts course. Diagrams as visual aids throughout to aid in understanding. A focus on recent cases and included discussion of contemporary issues, particularly in the field of standard contracting. Coverage of all the topics that are likely to be taught in the basic contracts course and included coverage of UCC Article 2 to the extent appropriate in a contracts course. A brief transnational perspective on each topic covered.
Skills and Values: Alternative Dispute Resolution by
Skills & Values: Alternative Dispute Resolution is designed to give students both theory and practical application for the skills and values which come into play during the various forms of alternative dispute resolution, including negotiation, mediation, collaborative law and arbitration. It may be successfully used as a stand-alone course book or as a practical supplement to a standard text. Each chapter focuses on a different aspect of the dispute resolution process. The idea is to read the material and then test and develop knowledge through exercises and simulations. Updated to include the sudden emergence of online negotiation--including mediation and arbitration--the simulations are designed to be done either in person or online. This makes the book ideal for either in-person, remote, or blended learning. The teacher's manual provides real "how-to" instructions and insights, and will guide the professor through the mechanics of staging the simulations, collecting the results, and debriefing.
Federal Rules of Evidence, with Faigman Evidence Map, 2021-2022 Edition by
This pamphlet, which supports any classroom text, consists of the updated Federal Rules of Evidence and materials designed to aid in understanding, construing, and applying them, including the Best Practices Manual for Authenticating Digital Evidence. It contains the recent amendments to Rules 404(b) and Rule 807 of the Federal Rules of Evidence. This edition of the pamphlet was prepared by Professor Daniel J. Capra, the Reporter to the Judicial Conference Advisory Committee on Evidence Rules.
The Right to Privacy by
Using original and archival material, The Right to Privacy traces the origins and influence of the right to privacy as a social, cultural and legal idea. Richardson argues that this right had emerged as an important legal concept across a number of jurisdictions by the end of the nineteenth century, providing a basis for its recognition as a universal human right in later centuries. This book is a unique contribution to the history of the modern right to privacy. It covers the transition from Georgian to Victorian England, developments in Second Empire France, insights in the lead up to the Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch (BGB) of 1896, and the experience of a rapidly modernising America around the turn of the twentieth century. It will appeal to an audience of academic and postgraduate researchers, as well as to the judiciary and legal practice.
Access to Medicines and Vaccines by
This open access book is the outcome of a Global Forum on Innovation, Intellectual Property and Access to Medicines held in December 2019 at the Max Plank Instititute in Munich, organised by the South Centre and the Max Plank Institute. The academics and experts from international organisations participating have contributed chapters to this book. The book is for policy makers (in Ministries of Health, Ministries of Trade, Ministries of Foreign Affairs, patent offices), but also relevant for academics (law, trade, public health), on the flexibilities available in the Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) of the World Trade Organization to promote access to medicines.
Health Law: sport, biomedicine, intellectual property, bioethics by
The World Health Organization defines health as follows: "Health is a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being, not just the absence of disease and exhaustion." Health can also be defined as a high degree of general functionality biological functions. Health is most often used as a term for absence from illness, trauma, deformities and mental disorders. Some of the health conditions are a balanced diet, physical activity and hygiene, and stable family and social circumstances. In other words, health is a state of good physical, mental and social well-being.
Understanding Cybersecurity Law and Digital Privacy by
Cybersecurity, data privacy law, and the related legal implications overlap into a relevant and developing area in the legal field. However, many legal practitioners lack the foundational understanding of computer processes which are fundamental for applying existing and developing legal structures to the issue of cybersecurity and data privacy. At the same time, those who work and research in cybersecurity are often unprepared and unaware of the nuances of legal application. This book translates the fundamental building blocks of data privacy and (cyber)security law into basic knowledge that is equally accessible and educational for those working and researching in either field, those who are involved with businesses and organizations, and the general public.
All about Trademarks: everything you need to know about trademarks from a former USPTO trademark examining attorney by
Protecting your trademark is critical. Often business owners do not register trademarks federally at the USPTO because they are unsure of how to do so or because they do not understand the benefits of registering. It is more costly to not register--you may be required to change the name, destroy all goods, pay damages, and pay your profits if it is determined that you are infringing.In All About Trademarks: Everything You Need to Know About Trademarks From a Former USPTO Trademark Examining Attorney, Andrea Hence Evans uses her extensive experience and expertise in trademark law to provide you with the tools needed to understand how to protect your trademark at the USPTO and how to avoid making common mistakes. This book is sure to help anyone looking to register their trademark and to help readers to understand how to navigate a trademark application successfully through the USPTO process.
Intellectual Property Rights Issues in Master Service Agreements of Software Companies and Implications for Contract Breaches by
A Master Service Agreement (MSA) is a contractual document that specifies performance objectives and outlines the responsibilities of both parties in the agreement. It also lists the current and prospective services to which the agreement applies. A statement of work (SOW) is a formal document that captures and defines the work activities, deliverables, and timeline a vendor must execute in performance of specified work for a client. The present study attempted to ascertain the factors in developing MSAs and SOWs and various best practices for alternate dispute resolutions available for offshore software managers. The study adds to the body of knowledge in the areas of Software Intellectual Property Rights, Alignment of MSAs and SOWs, ADR Mechanism for Contractual Breaches, Best Practices in Information Technology, Offshore Management, and Organizational Behavior.
Tactical entanglements : AI art, creative agency, and the limits of intellectual property by 
Intellectual Anarchy by
"Intellectual Anarchy is about how we can find disruptive solutions to hard problems, problems so difficult that they can seem impossible, such as climate change, sustainable energy, and rising healthcare costs. Problems of that magnitude demand radical new ideas--an incremental approach won't work. Their solutions seemingly come out of left field, defying conventional wisdom, and overturning existing industries, practices, and business models. This book details the Intellectual Anarchy methodology followed at Oceanit for generating disruptive solutions to these problems and taking them from the idea stage all the way to the market--"Mind-to-Market"--including financing innovations to overcome the scarcity of venture capital anywhere away from the conventional tech hubs" -- Book website.
Patent office and patent laws: or, a guide to inventors and a book of reference for judges, lawyers, magistrates and others. With appendices by 
Digital Right Management a Complete Guide - 2020 Edition by
Consider your own Digital right management project, what types of organizational problems do you think might be causing or affecting your problem, based on the work done so far? Implementation Planning: is a pilot needed to test the changes before a full roll out occurs? What is the cause of any Digital right management gaps? Is the solution technically practical? At what point will vulnerability assessments be performed once Digital right management is put into production (e.g., ongoing Risk Management after implementation)? Defining, designing, creating, and implementing a process to solve a challenge or meet an objective is the most valuable role... In EVERY group, company, organization and department. Unless you are talking a one-time, single-use project, there should be a process. Whether that process is managed and implemented by humans, AI, or a combination of the two, it needs to be designed by someone with a complex enough perspective to ask the right questions. Someone capable of asking the right questions and step back and say, 'What are we really trying to accomplish here? And is there a different way to look at it?' This Self-Assessment empowers people to do just that - whether their title is entrepreneur, manager, consultant, (Vice-)President, CxO etc... - they are the people who rule the future. They are the person who asks the right questions to make Digital Right Management investments work better. This Digital Right Management All-Inclusive Self-Assessment enables You to be that person. All the tools you need to an in-depth Digital Right Management Self-Assessment. Featuring 941 new and updated case-based questions, organized into seven core areas of process design, this Self-Assessment will help you identify areas in which Digital Right Management improvements can be made. In using the questions you will be better able to: - diagnose Digital Right Management projects, initiatives, organizations, businesses and processes using accepted diagnostic standards and practices - implement evidence-based best practice strategies aligned with overall goals - integrate recent advances in Digital Right Management and process design strategies into practice according to best practice guidelines Using a Self-Assessment tool known as the Digital Right Management Scorecard, you will develop a clear picture of which Digital Right Management areas need attention. Your purchase includes access details to the Digital Right Management self-assessment dashboard download which gives you your dynamically prioritized projects-ready tool and shows your organization exactly what to do next. You will receive the following contents with New and Updated specific criteria: - The latest quick edition of the book in PDF - The latest complete edition of the book in PDF, which criteria correspond to the criteria in... - The Self-Assessment Excel Dashboard - Example pre-filled Self-Assessment Excel Dashboard to get familiar with results generation - In-depth and specific Digital Right Management Checklists - Project management checklists and templates to assist with implementation INCLUDES LIFETIME SELF ASSESSMENT UPDATES Every self assessment comes with Lifetime Updates and Lifetime Free Updated Books. Lifetime Updates is an industry-first feature which allows you to receive verified self assessment updates, ensuring you always have the most accurate information at your fingertips.
Licensing Ideas Using LinkedIn: Ditch Cold Calling Forever! Connect with companies looking for new products by 
Genentech by
In the fall of 1980, Genentech, Inc., a little-known California genetic engineering company, became the overnight darling of Wall Street, raising over $38 million in its initial public stock offering. Lacking marketed products or substantial profit, the firm nonetheless saw its share price escalate from $35 to $89 in the first few minutes of trading, at that point the largest gain in stock market history. Coming at a time of economic recession and declining technological competitiveness in the United States, the event provoked banner headlines and ignited a period of speculative frenzy over biotechnology as a revolutionary means for creating new and better kinds of pharmaceuticals, untold profit, and a possible solution to national economic malaise. Drawing from an unparalleled collection of interviews with early biotech players, Sally Smith Hughes offers the first book-length history of this pioneering company, depicting Genentech's improbable creation, precarious youth, and ascent to immense prosperity. Hughes provides intimate portraits of the people significant to Genentech's science and business, including cofounders Herbert Boyer and Robert Swanson, and in doing so sheds new light on how personality affects the growth of science. By placing Genentech's founders, followers, opponents, victims, and beneficiaries in context, Hughes also demonstrates how science interacts with commercial and legal interests and university research, and with government regulation, venture capital, and commercial profits. Integrating the scientific, the corporate, the contextual, and the personal, Genentech tells the story of biotechnology as it is not often told, as a risky and improbable entrepreneurial venture that had to overcome a number of powerful forces working against it.
Licensing Standard Essential Patents by
What is the licensing framework of standard essential patents (SEPs) for connectivity standards such as 5G and Wi-Fi? How will the framework change with the Internet of Things (IoT)? This book provides comprehensive answers to these questions. For over two decades, connectivity standards have been the subject of litigation and controversy around the globe. Now, with the introduction of 5G and the emergence of the world of connected objects, or the IoT, the licensing framework for SEPs is becoming even more contentious. In order to bring clarity to the debate, this book analyses and explains key components of a fair, reasonable and non-discriminatory (FRAND) licence for SEPs; clarifies the economic, policy and market background of SEP disputes; examines the interrelated application of contract, patent and competition laws; and describes the approaches by courts and regulators in the EU, US and the UK. Importantly, the book also assesses how the experience from the smartphone and ICT industries can be applied in a new environment of the IoT, and considers what needs to be changed in the future SEP licensing landscape. The book provides a holistic coverage of SEP licensing issues in an attempt to reduce uncertainty within this highly complex and technical area, and will be useful to practitioners, policy makers, SMEs and large technology companies in the IoT, as well as academics interested in the field.
Digital Assets Practice by
Build a legal career in the hottest 21st century practice areas In his 21st Century Legal Career Series, Richard L. Hermann researches, evaluates, and predicts where the employment opportunities are and will be for law graduates. Volume 8, Digital Assets Practice: Three New Practice Opportunities in One, explores how technology has generated a ground-floor opportunity for attorneys. Until very recently, the vast storehouse of individual and corporate digital assets were not included in people's estate plans. Today it is far and away the hottest topic in estate planning. Business owners and individuals must now be concerned with what will happen to their digital assets once they pass from the scene. But digital assets practice does not end with estate planning and how executors and administrators deal with such assets. In addition to estate planning, this booklet examines: digital assets practice with respect to small businesses, especially succession planning; and digital assets practice with respect to mergers and acquisitions. Highlights include: -What is a Digital Asset? -Digital Assets Practice-- Estate Planning & Fiduciary Considerations -Digital Assets Practice--Business Succession Planning -Digital Assets Practice--Mergers and Acquisitions -Why Is Digital Assets Practice So Hot? -Who Hires? -Breaking into Digital Assets Practice -Finding Out About Digital Assets Law Jobs Before Everyone Else -Where to Go for More Information What makes Digital Assets practice a ground-floor opportunity? Individuals and small business owners thinking about succession matters have amassed vast repositories of digital assets worthy of protection. Few in the potential client pool are cognizant of the fact that they possess digital assets worth passing on to spouses or the next generation. Digital asset protection will be an ever more major issue for everyone as time passes .Very few lawyers are even aware of the practice opportunities in this area. Hermann focuses on what law students and lawyers need to know to break into this practice.
To Her Credit:women, finance, and the law in eighteenth-century New England cities by
A transformative look at colonial women's pivotal roles as lenders and debtors in shaping the economic and legal systems of Newport and Boston. In colonial Boston and Newport, personal credit relationships were a cornerstone of economic networks. During the eighteenth century, the pace of market exchange quickened and debt cases swelled the dockets of county courts, institutions that became ever more central to enforcing financial obligations. At the same time, seafaring and military service drew men away from home, some never to return. The absences of male household heads during this era of economic transition forced New Englanders to evaluate a pressing question: Who would establish and manage consequential financial relationships? In To Her Credit, Sara T. Damiano uncovers free women's centrality to the interrelated worlds of eighteenth-century finance and law. Focusing on everyday life in Boston, Massachusetts, and Newport, Rhode Island--two of the busiest port cities of this period--Damiano argues that colonial women's skilled labor actively facilitated the growth of Atlantic ports and their legal systems. Mining vast troves of court records, Damiano reveals that married and unmarried women of all social classes forged new paths through the complexities of credit and debt, stabilizing credit networks amid demographic and economic turmoil. In turn, urban women mobilized sophisticated skills and strategies as borrowers, lenders, litigants, and witnesses. Highlighting the often-unrecognized malleability of early American social hierarchies, the book shows how indebtedness intensified women's vulnerability, while acting as creditors, clients, or witnesses enabled women to exercise significant power over men. Yet by the late eighteenth century, class differentiation began to mark finance and the law as masculine realms, obscuring women's contributions to the very institutions they helped to create. The first book to systematically reconstruct the centrality of women's labor to eighteenth-century personal credit relationships, To Her Credit will be an eye-opening work for economic historians, legal historians, and anyone interested in the early history of New England.
Advanced Negotiation and Mediation Theory and Practice by
In this new, updated edition of Advanced Negotiation and Mediation Theory and Practice, Paul Zwier and Thomas Guernsey present a strategic planning and integrated systematic approach to negotiation, which recognizes that both adversarial and problem-solving strategies have distinct advantages and that lawyers need to combine styles and strategies to achieve the best results for their clients. Zwier and Guernsey provide attorneys with an outline to plan and implement effective negotiation techniques, using up-to-date situations throughout the book to demonstrate how understanding negotiation theory and practice can help them partner with their clients to make better strategic use of negotiation. The authors break down the counseling process into stages and show what information the client needs to make an informed decision. They then suggest and give examples of the techniques and skills that might be used to implement that decision in a negotiation and or mediation setting.
Assessment of Teaching and Learning by
This book discusses every aspect of assessment from the broad topics of creating a culture of assessment and the institutional assessment process to the more specific topics of assessing student learning at the course and program levels and assessing teaching effectiveness. The book models assessment at the institutional level, the course level, and throughout the law school experience (experiential learning programs, legal writing courses, centers and concentrations, extracurricular activities, non-academic offices). In addition to explaining the assessment process generally and in a variety of specific contexts, this book provides example assessment documents and tools that law schools can adapt as necessary. Moreover, the book offers suggestions for law schools on peer, student, and self-assessment of teaching effectiveness, both formative (ongoing teaching development) and summative (personnel decisions). Administrators, new professors, and seasoned professors will find guidance and advice on all aspects of assessing teaching and student learning.
Drugs, Money, and Secret Handshakes by
In the warped world of prescription drug pricing, generic drugs can cost more than branded ones, old drugs can be relaunched at astronomical prices, and low-cost options are shut out of the market. In Drugs, Money and Secret Handshakes, Robin Feldman shines a light into the dark corners of the pharmaceutical industry to expose a web of shadowy deals in which higher-priced drugs receive favorable treatment and patients are channeled toward the most expensive medicines. At the center of this web are the highly secretive middle players who establish coverage levels for patients and negotiate with drug companies. By offering lucrative payments to these middle players (as well as to doctors and hospitals), drug companies ensure that inexpensive drugs never gain traction. This system of perverse incentives has delivered the kind of exorbitant drug prices - and profits - that everyone loves except for those who pay the bills.
The Billion-Dollar Molecule by
Join journalist Barry Werth as he pulls back the curtain on Vertex, a start-up pharmaceutical company, and witness firsthand the intense drama being played out in the pioneering and hugely profitable field of drug research. Founded by Joshua Boger, a dynamic Harvard- and Merck-trained scientific whiz kid, Vertex is dedicated to designing--atom by atom--both a new life-saving immunosuppressant drug, and a drug to combat the virus that causes AIDS. You will be hooked from start to finish, as you go from the labs, where obsessive, fiercely competitive scientists struggle for a breakthrough, to Wall Street, where the wheeling and dealing takes on a life of its own, as Boger courts investors and finally decides to take Vertex public. Here is a fascinating no-holds-barred account of the business of science, which includes an updated epilogue about the most recent developments in the quest for a drug to cure AIDS.
Charged by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A renowned journalist and legal commentator exposes the unchecked power of the prosecutor as a driving force in America's mass incarceration crisis--and charts a way out. "An important, thoughtful, and thorough examination of criminal justice in America that speaks directly to how we reduce mass incarceration."--Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy "This harrowing, often enraging book is a hopeful one, as well, profiling innovative new approaches and the frontline advocates who champion them."--Matthew Desmond, author of Evicted FINALIST FOR THE LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE * SHORTLISTED FOR THE J. ANTHONY LUKAS BOOK PRIZE * NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR * The New York Public Library * Library Journal * Publishers Weekly * Kirkus Reviews The American criminal justice system is supposed to be a contest between two equal adversaries, the prosecution and the defense, with judges ensuring a fair fight. That image of the law does not match the reality in the courtroom, however. Much of the time, it is prosecutors more than judges who control the outcome of a case, from choosing the charge to setting bail to determining the plea bargain. They often decide who goes free and who goes to prison, even who lives and who dies. In Charged, Emily Bazelon reveals how this kind of unchecked power is the underreported cause of enormous injustice--and the missing piece in the mass incarceration puzzle. Charged follows the story of two young people caught up in the criminal justice system: Kevin, a twenty-year-old in Brooklyn who picked up his friend's gun as the cops burst in and was charged with a serious violent felony, and Noura, a teenage girl in Memphis indicted for the murder of her mother. Bazelon tracks both cases--from arrest and charging to trial and sentencing--and, with her trademark blend of deeply reported narrative, legal analysis, and investigative journalism, illustrates just how criminal prosecutions can go wrong and, more important, why they don't have to. Bazelon also details the second chances they prosecutors can extend, if they choose, to Kevin and Noura and so many others. She follows a wave of reform-minded D.A.s who have been elected in some of our biggest cities, as well as in rural areas in every region of the country, put in office to do nothing less than reinvent how their job is done. If they succeed, they can point the country toward a different and profoundly better future.
Negotiation (techniques) : the fundamental principles by 
The Hague Abduction Convention by
Every family lawyer should understand the workings of the Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction. This updated third edition of The Hague Abduction Convention explains for family lawyers how this critical treaty works in the United States, both in theory and in practice. The renowned author, Jeremy D. Morley, has enormous experience counseling clients and fellow practitioners as to international family law matters globally, as well as lecturing on international child custody law to audiences around the world.Because family law is becoming increasingly internationalized with globalization, international relationships are common and international travel is growing. Family lawyers and judges may not be fully aware of the law and the voluminous case law that has developed around the Hague Convention. It operates in the United States in ways that are significantly different than in other Hague countries due to federal legislation that implements the treaty, the concurrence of federal and state jurisdiction, the uniform state legislation on child custody jurisdiction and a host of other factors.This practical resource for U.S. practitioners explains the treaty's operation in American courts, both federal and state, and unravels the relationship between the Hague Convention, the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act, and foreign child custody laws. Focusing mostly on what are sometimes called "incoming" abductions, or abductions from other countries into the U.S., this book addresses the issues of primary concern for practitioners, including:* Procedural and practical issues* Establishing the child's "habitual residence"* Rights custody* Provisions regarding consent and acquiescence to the child's removal* "One-year-and-settled" exception* Child's objection to the return* "Grave risk of harm" exception* Human rights exception* Rights of access* International relocation and travel, and more
Rule the Rules of Workplace Wellness Programs by
This updated edition informs the reader of the what, why and how of workplace wellness program laws, including:* What laws are important for workplace wellness program compliance* Why these laws exist and why are they important for workplace wellness program design and implementation* How workplace wellness professionals and organizations can apply workplace wellness laws most effectively
Food Law by
Food law is a hot topic in today's legal practice. For one thing, food is a highly-regulated product with fragmented oversight on the federal and state levels. Producers and retailers face an array of compliance obligations, especially as they operate in an increasingly inter-connected, globalized world. Even while the number of law school courses on food law proliferates to meet growing student demand, there remains substantial disagreement over just what constitutes food law. Can students tell firms they want to go into "food law" as a defined field of practice? Even for practicing lawyers, wrapping their arms around the contours of this nebulous field can be difficult at first. For readers new to the field of food law in its many forms, this Practical Guide aims to provide an overview of what lawyers actually do to assist food and beverage clients across various domains of legal practice. It is written by practicing lawyers for practicing lawyers, with a focus on information that is both practical and actionable.
The Supreme Court in transition : October term 2020 by
"This review of the Supreme Court's October 2020 Term looks back at the major cases addressed by the Court and provides a valuable focus on the implications of these decisions. Written by Erwin Chemerinsky, Dean of the University of California at Berkeley School of Law, the book takes a neutral tone, neither praising nor criticizing the decisions, and organizes the case essays by topic." --Publisher's website.
Mediation Ethics by
"This book is aimed at lawyer-mediators who care about their clients, professions, and the general public and want to conduct mediations ethically"--