Skip to main content

University of New Hampshire Franklin Pierce School of Law Library: About

Get your information here!

About the Law Library

Overlooking the scenic White Park in Concord, New Hampshire, the Law Library is your information center at the UNH School of Law.  Our students prepare for their legal careers in a specialty, Intellectual Property Library within a larger Law Library.  The Law Library's three floors include varied study spaces including 5 study rooms, the main collection, the IP Library, the Kenison Room for rare books, and the Gire Archives.

The general legal collection offers domestic legal materials to support the law school's curricular and clinical needs and provides targeted collections in Social Justice, E-commerce and Technology, International Criminal Law and Justice and an extensive collection of New Hampshire legal materials.

The library staff provides full-service support and instruction for JD (residential and hybrid), MIP and LLM students guided by the faculty approved Informational Literacy Plan, detailing legal research instruction throughout the curriculum.  In addition to working closely with students and faculty on their research, we also teach a variety of for-credit legal research and information literacy courses throughout the curriculum.  We also work with students and faculty to provide research training, research help, subject area LibGuides, and curated collections.  

Keep up to date with the Law Library's events and news by checking out our blog and Facebook page.  Please also visit the internationally acclaimed, IP Mall, an open-access resource containing unique collections in copyright, patent, trademark, licensing, etc. 

LC Classification System (or How do I find that book?)

The law library uses the Library of Congress (LC) classification system to organize its treatise and reference materials.  It seems our main collection's entire treatise collection's call numbers are K- or KF-something because the LC system assigns materials for law call numbers beginning with K; KF is specifically for law of the United States; KFN is specifically for law of New Hampshire.

The intellectual property library located on the third floor of the library also uses the LC classification system.  However, intellectual property spans many disciplines beyond law and the library's intellectual property collection spans many other LC classes.

Click here to find core treatises by subject that are shelved in the classified section of the library.

Click here for IP-specific classification outline.

Click here for Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Collection

Print Resources and E-books

The library's collections of print, AV and electronic materials, including e-books, are all available though Library Search, our online catalog.  The library's present collection contains over 220,000 volumes in book and microform equivalent volumes.  Our print IP collection is in the IP Library located on the 3rd floor.  The general legal collection including statutes, case reporters, treatises, and more are located on the library's 1st floor.  

Microforms

The microform collection is housed on the first floor of the library in a room just off the area by the printers.  

The library has a digital reader which will allow you to save your materials to a USB drive.  Please ask a librarian for assistance.

Reserve Materials

Casebooks for class readings, AV study aids, citation guides, hornbooks, and our legal themed DVD collection are on Reserve shelved behind the Circulation Desk.  Ask the desk attendant for the material to check out these materials.

Reference Materials

A modest general reference collection including legal dictionaries, directories and encyclopedias is located on the second (main) floor adjacent to library staff offices.   

Scanners and Printers

The library provides scanners and printers (for use by network authorized users only) on the first, second (main), and third floors of the library. Students printing from their own computers will need to download software available here. There are also five student computers on the second (main) floor of the library.

  • Students must use their ID cards and the UNH Cat's Cache system to add funds online.
  • Pages cost 10 cents each.
  • Copy cards also can be purchased for $5.00 from Kathy Fletcher.
  • Users also have the option to "Scan and Print,"  "Scan to a USB Drive," or "Scan to E-mail."
  • All scanners have a touch screen interface with clear, easy instructions for use.