UNH Franklin Pierce Law School Law Library: International Legal Research: Databases

International Databases

Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
The Foreign Law Guide (FLG) is an essential database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one place.
HeinOnline: Foreign & International Law Resources Database This link opens in a new window
The Foreign & International Law Resources Database (FILRD) includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.
HeinOnline: U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library This link opens in a new window
The Treaties and Agreements Library contains ALL of the U.S. treaties, whether currently in force, expired, or not yet officially published. This library is the world's largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements. It includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set ("The Blue Set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
HeinOnline: World Constitutions Illustrated This link opens in a new window
A resource for comparative constitutional law research. It contains the current constitution for every country; past constitutions; substantial constitutional histories for many countries such as the UK, France, Brazil and Columbia as well as classic works, constitutional legal periodicals and links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographies of important works. This database is continuing to grow and improve as the publisher is seeking contributions from global scholars to develop the constitutional knowledge of every country.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Law is an excellent starting point for research on topics pertaining to international law and the UN. It provides peer-reviewed, brief, authoritative overviews of complex topics, with a bibliography for further investigation.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
PAIS International from ProQuest contains journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
PLI Discover Plus This link opens in a new window Practising Law Institute's (PLI) Discover PLUS provides comprehensive access to PLI content published since 2008, including treatises, answer books, course handbooks, and exclusive access to seminar transcripts. Topical areas include corporate and securities law, intellectual property, litigation, and real estate. Individual chapters are available as downloadable PDFs, while forms, templates, and sample documents from across PLI's library can be individually retrieved and edited.

Lexis and Westlaw

These platforms are subscription only and will require a username and password.

Both Lexis and Westlaw provide a myriad of international materials such as treaties and other international agreements, periodicals on international topics, legal treatises on a variety of topics concerning international law and even some primary materials of select countries. Both platforms provide access to International Legal Materials; a publication that reprints a variety of materials that might include foreign cases, private agreements, trade pacts, and more. Often the materials are printed in English and may be the only English translation of a document.

Westlaw

The newest interface of the Westlaw databases works on natural language searching in a "one box" search. All International materials have been included in this new interface.

Lexis+

Lexis+ also uses a "one box" search with natural language. There are treaty materials available as well EU materials and the domestic laws of many countries. Many scholarly treatises and practice guides are included in the academic subscription that may have chapters with an international focus or discuss the law of a certain country.